Neko Musume Alpha Omega

Header

In preparation for the upcoming pile of awesomeness that is Alpha X Omega’s Yzak statue, I decided to give the company a test run with a figure of theirs I’ve wanted for a really long time. Anyone who’s been reading this blog for a while should know that I am a huge fan of the works of Shigeru Mizuki. As such I could only resist the pull of this Cat Girl statue for so long….fortunately Japtou still had one left in stock.

Neko1

Neko Musume has the cutest face ever. Her gaze is shifted to the right, something over there definitely caught her eye. From the smile on her face it’s safe to assume t’s something she liked too. Her catty features are well-defined on this figure, her pupils are thin slits, very catty, and the iris’ are a nice shade of amber. The light refracting off of her eyes also adds a hint of playfulness to her expression. Her mouth is open in a happy exclamation, if I had to wager a guess I’d bet she just spied Kitaro sleeping on my shelf. In the typical manner for feisty anime girls she has one fang. It’s a cute touch I think. Another thing that I like is the heavy black line overtop her eyes, it makes her eyes stand out more and makes her face look a little bit more lively.

Neko2

She’s posed with one paw….err hand up close to her chest. Her fingers are curled tightly, despite this however you can still see that she has a light pink polish on her nails. Her sleeves have an ample amount of wrinkles on them and overall look really nice. Ted up under her collar she has an orange bow, it offsets the color of her eyes nicely even though it’s a significantly lighter shade of orange. The edges of the ribbon don’t just lay flat against her either, they’re raised just a bit to show that she is in fact moving. Tiny touches like that always make me really happy. Speaking of pleasing to me, I think folds in the fabric by her waist are particularly pleasing to see as well, they do a great job of showing how her torso is turned just slightly.

Neko3

Neko chan has great legs, the perfect representation of what a child’s legs should look like. They aren’t extremely muscley nor extremely shapely, but they are well sculpted. I’m especially fond of the calves. The proportions between her legs and the rest of her body are spot on and helps in her adorable appearance.

Neko4

On the other hand….or maybe I should say the other foot? I don’t like her feet at all. Especially the one connecting her to the base itself. It looks awkward, I think with how bent her ankle is it would look more natural if on this foot she were resting on the toes like she’d just landed or something.

20130303143227

Her hair falls into her eyes just a little bit and adds to her insanely cute profile. I think this is almost as cute as looking at her head on. She looking back almost over her shoulder. Her pointed ears are clearly visible through her fringe, but they could have been detailed a lot better. These ears just look chunky and a little bit strange.

Neko6One arm is positioned slightly back behind her, like with her raised arm this hand is in a fist. Her fingers are resting lightly against her palm, it leads me to believe she’s not angry or about to punch someone’s lights out, she looks relaxed. Even here with the simple details like that.

20130303143237

She has very simple tread on the bottom of her shoes.

Neko8

Her ribbon is huge. I love the sculpt of it a lot. Like the little ribbon on her collar this one is also a little bit windblown. Her hair lacks a lot in definition in the back, but it still looks decent regardless.

Neko9

The back of her dress doesn’t have a whole lot of detail to it, but what it does have is nice. I appreciate the buttons at the top of her collar. It’s offputtingly rare to actually be able to tell how the hell these characters can manage to put these outfits on, that when they do show it I can’t help but appreciate it. also the folds down at her waist look really good.

Neko10

Her dress forms really nicely to her hips and bells out at the thighs. It adds to the appeal of her looking like she’s landing. It’s pretty freaking nice and I kind of love it.

Neko11

I really love the way the ribbon is blowing up on this side. I’m not sure why I find it so appealing, I just think it’s really cute.

Neko12

One of my biggest problems with this figure honestly is the white piece that she connects to.  If it had been pink I wouldn’t have had any problems with it, but the white stands out way too much against the pink. Overall though the base serves it’s purpose admirably well. I can thoroughly approve of that at least.

Neko14

Her box is way cute too. I love the grassy effect neat the bottom of the box. And the side shows her silhouette frolicking with foxfire.

20130303143519

The back of the box shows both her front and back in great detail.  Overall it’s a very nice box that represents the character very well.

Neko13

I think this is my favorite angle on this figure. It’s a little bit off the normal view but I think it;s way cute like this. So overall she’s freaking cute. She does have her flaws, like the shape of her feet, and her oddball ears, but she’s definitely worth the price. Especially for a fan of Gegege No Kitaro.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neko Musume Alpha Omega

  1. colonelfancy says:

    A very good looking toy. Much agreed on the foot pegs. Why not just make the pegs that illucinate elevated feet clear? It will always look like an extended platform high heel otherwise.

  2. Tekizen says:

    I’m not too sure why but things like that seem to happen offputtingly frequently. Regrettably there isn’t a whole lot we can do about it other then make a custom base which is just a pain in the ass.

Leave a Reply

