Jaina Solo Kotobukiya

Jainaheader

A long long time ago in a galaxy far far away one of the Star wars Expanded Universe authors wrote a pair of twins by the names of Jaina and Jacen. Jaina would grow up to do many great things and become a hero of the New Republic like her parents. She commands the elite fighter unit Rogue Squadron, this figure is of her in her flight suit, brought to us by Kotobukiya’s Bishoujo line of figures. She’s my very first Bishoujo so I don’t know what to expect yet. Let’s take a closer look shall we?

Jaina1

I love Jaina’s face. It’s adorable, hmmm with just a hint of Carrie Fisher to it. Her eyes are painted very well, and there’s just a hint of blush on her cheeks. Her lips are full and a nice shade of red, though I’m not sure why you would bother with lipstick before hopping in your X-Wing. She also looks a little bit surprised, maybe someone just told her she had an Ewok recruit to meet? Regardless her face looks really damn good. Her hair’s messy down on the sides, she probably just took off her helmet, the individual strands make her hair look like it has body to it, Very nice.

20130217125536075

I’m particularly fond of Jaina’s chest. No not because I’m a pervert….ok maybe a little, but mostly because her boobs are shaped so well. They’re nicely rounded and very well-defined while still falling into the realms of realism. I’m also impressed by how the tank top she’s wearing clings to her form, It’s very sexy.

Jaina3

Her flight suit is unzips down to the waist and falls loosely around her. The folds and wrinkles are well placed and look fantastic.

Jaina4

Her flight suit is covered in pockets. She can carry just about anything in those things I think. The seams on it look great, they look really faded which reminds you that this is the uniform of a soldier.

Jaina5

The helmet that she’s holding loosely against her side is painted really well.  Maybe I’m being a little bit nit picky here, but I think it would have looked a bit better if it wasn’t such a pristine white. It looks too clean too perfect, not like it’s from a war.

Jaina6

The long strands of messy hair look great from the front, but from the sides you can see a hint of the seam line. It kind of sucks a little bit, but it’s not too bad. Her arms are thin but lightly muscled. I like it.

Jaina7

The gloves get tighter around the wrist and provide nice wrinkles at the joint. Her hands are thin and well-defined through the gloves.

Jaina8

Her hair is awesome, I mean really awesome. I love the definition on her hair. It looks so gorgeous.

Jaina9

Her back curves nicely and goes down into her flight suit beautifully. I love the curve of her shoulder blades are clearly defined and look positively perfect.

Jaina10

Jaina clearly has a thin form underneath that weighty outfit, definitely sizable hips though. This is a Yamashita work.

Jaina11

Her legs are long and have a large range of wrinkles on them. The flight suit has some amazing shading on it. The wrinkles on the boots are fantastic as well and do a nice job of defining her ankles.

Jaina12

The pilots vest is rigid and whereas it looks good, I’m honestly skeptical that this thing could actually fit on her comfortably.Then there’s the lightsaber hovering in her hand, it looks very nice.

Jaina13

The sleeves hang down nicely and the detailing on them is nice and looks natural. Also you can see light lines from where the cargo pockets are on the outside. Nice!

Jaina14

If you look closely at her hand you can see a small white peg, that’s the only spot that the lightsaber connects to her hand. Otherwise it ‘hovers’ perfectly.

Jaina15

The Compad on the vest looks fantastic, the switches and buttons are all right where they should be. The oxygen tube hangs down and even waves just a little bit. The attention to detail on it is very nice indeed.

Jaina16

The lightsaber looks good, I do think they could have done more to make the switch on the lightsaber more distinctive. Overall though it serves it’s purpose well.

Jaina17

Her base is two clear pieces of plastic, in between them you can place one of two decals. My favorite of these is the eye-catching Rogue Squadron one. It was designed by Gavin Darklighter way back in the Star Wars timeline, it has stuck like glue to the team since. It features a full flight squadron of ships jetting away from the New Republic insignia.

2013-02-17_13-03-15_929

The other decal option is a lot more dull, it’s a simple clear piece with the words “Star Wars” in a light blue writing. It’s barely even visible.

Jaina19

Jaina’s box is fundamentally black. It has a small window where you can see Jaina’s scattered pieces. She does require actual assembly.

Jaina20

One side of the box shows the figure, fully assembled and looking fantastic.

Jaina21

The back of the box shows highlight features of the figure. Lightsaber, helmet, hotness. You know the usual. It also has a blurb about the character in question.

Jaina22

The last picture that the box shows off is the original drawing she was based off of. It looks gorgeous, which really isn’t much of a surprise.

Jaina23

Overall Jaina is beautiful. Her hair is superb, her clothes are amazing, and her pose is cute and a little bit playful. She is my first bishoujo figure, and if she looks this good, I’ll probably buy others down the line.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jaina Solo Kotobukiya

  1. colonelfancy says:

    I have thought more about looking into the bishoujo line of toys, because the ones I’ve seen looked pretty cool, and this one is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

