Roronoa Zoro Figuarts Zero

Header

Roronoa Zoro has been my personal favorite of the guys from One Piece for a really long time. I’m  not a particularly large fan of the franchise though so POP’s are normally a little out of league. I saw this figure though that looked really nice and for a significantly more reasonable price I couldn’t resist!

2012-09-28_15-10-34_382

He looks ready to get down and fight with everything that he has. Zoro’s eyes are hooded by the bandana, and honestly that’s an effect that I kind of dig. It makes him appear more menacing. One of his three swords, I believe it’s Wado Ichimonji, is clutched in his teeth. I thought about making a really messed up joke here, but decided it’s best for the whole world if you just insert your own joke instead. The detail on the sword is great, the hilt looks authentic and I love the silver sheen on the blade itself.

2012-09-28_15-10-47_377

Zoro’s shirt looks pretty good, it’s got a bit of grey shading to it that leaves it looking a little bit dirty. The wrinkles on it are well placed up until you get down to the haramaki anyway. There I have a few minor issues, it doesn’t look like it goes down into the green cloth at all.

2012-09-28_15-10-51_349

Zoro’s pants look great, they’re loose and look very easy to move in. The wrinkles on them are very well-defined thus giving them the appeal of actual fabric. The cuffs on the bottom of the pants are also a nice touch, I expected his pants to just tuck into his boots, but this gives a more natural feel to the figure I think.

2012-09-28_15-10-57_477

Zoro’s eyes are clearly defined, it almost looks like he outlined them with kohl. It does however look pretty nice on the figure. His hair has great definition, even his sideburns look good. There is however a fairly foul injection mark on the bandana. That made me kind of sad. Also the earrings that are one of Zoro’s trademarks are one giant glob, there’s a little definition there so you can kind of tell it’s supposed to be more than one earring, but it looks really silly.

2012-09-28_15-11-01_116

Zoro has a great neckline. You can see just how tense he is by the pull of the tendons alone. The sculptor really did a great job  here. HIs shirt however lacks in comparison. The front of the shirt shows barely any sign of movement. For a figure in such an actiony pose this is a bit odd.

2012-09-28_15-11-05_292

His legs are positioned perfect. This is the stance of someone who isn’t about to budge an inch if he doesn’t want to. Also on the note of positioning I love the contrast in the way his ankles are bent. The straighter of the two legs shows that he’s leaning back more on that foot, whereas the other foot has more weight distributed on it, and is where he’s grounding himself.

2012-09-28_15-11-32_960

Would you check out the definition on his outstretched arm? That is some serious muscle action. I love the little veins you can see, kind of makes Zoro look like a line user.

2012-09-28_15-11-39_322

Again looking at his build, you can tell Zoro’s in great shape. His arms are very well sculpted, and he looks ready to throw down. Over all I’m very impressed with his body…..stop thinking that you perverts!

2012-09-28_15-11-57_268

His shirt is tight and gives of a clear view of the muscles in his back, it looks really good. His arm however doesn’t fit in quite right and that spoils the view a little bit. You can toggle it a bit though so it still looks great from the front.

2012-09-28_15-12-04_649

The haramaki looks great from this angle. The wrinkles on it are very well placed and look really natural. Something a little funny that I noticed about this figure is the leather strap holding the swords at his waist doesn’t connect anywhere at the bottom. So it’s just off in limbo. Also the top of the strap looks like it’s getting really friendly with Wado’s sheath. I don’t think it had a built-in strap so they might want to try painting that a little bit better next time.

2012-09-28_15-12-15_406

Aside from the afore-mentioned problem with the white sheath and the leather strap, the sheathes look pretty damn good. Especially the blue and purple one, that really stands out with a very nice paint job.

2012-09-28_15-13-46_275

Zoro’s alternate face lost the kohl and traded it in for lipstick. I’m not kidding, his mouth is seriously red. I’d wager he lost a bet with Nami…. Regardless though, his face does look really good, I’m especially fond of the bit of crinkled forehead between his eyebrows.  His hair is pretty good too, they did an excellent job of capturing “Marrimo” on this toy.

2012-09-28_15-13-53_672

When displayed like this it’s expected that you’ll resheath Wado, as such he comes with an extra hilt to put in this sheath. The piece however fits insanely tight and is nearly impossible to get back out.

2012-09-28_15-14-06_776

The other alternate piece he comes with is the bandana that he ties around his arm. So now he really is displayable in two completely different fashions. The bandanas paint job is a little shoddy though. With this version you also get a full head of mossy hair, I’m pretty fond of the way his hair is sculpted, it looks perfectly unkempt.

2012-09-28_15-14-26_666

Zoro’s base is a clear black that has his name printed on it in very large font, I have no idea why there’s a period between Roronoa and Zoro though. And it’s kindly labeled as the Battle Version. The Roronoa skull is pretty awesome too. Honestly the different skulls are one of my favorite things about the One Piece figuarts.

2012-09-28_15-16-41_372

His box is a green and white, and shows the figure in display version one down in the corner. The figure itself is visible through the extremely large picture window. As always the silly figuarts phrases are written all over too.

2012-09-28_15-16-49_290

The back of the box shows highlight shots. Unlike Nico Robin these do not include chest and butt….shocking, but instead show the different ways you can display him. Which is cool.

2012-09-28_15-13-50_11

Overall it’s a pretty cool rendition of Zoro. It definitely has it flaws though ie: the poor sculpt on the earrings, the way his arm fits, and the paint on Wado’s sheath. Just sitting there on your shelf however you probably wouldn’t even notice the flaws. His cost was about 30 dollars from a US retailer, I’d say he’s definitely worth that.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

