Koyomi Araragi Banpresto DXF

Koyomi

I’ve found over the last few monthes that I’ve done a surprising amount of male figure reviews. The people at Banpresto, Megahouse, Altair, and Kotobukiya have all been exceptionally nice to me recently. The latest of these intrepid young men to join my collection is Koyomi.

2012-12-23_22-30-09_146

I’ll start by saying I was quite happy from the moment I opened the box. Koyomi looks great, his hair falls over one eye but does nothing to hide the impassive look that his eyes portray. His ahoge feels delicate but as long as he’s handled with care I’m sure he won’t break. His shirt shows great wrinkles underneath his arm.

2012-12-23_22-30-21_243

I like that his hood doesn’t lay perfectly flat against his back it has its own share of wrinkles and looks like it bubbles out just a bit.

2012-12-23_22-30-26_248

His hair has a fair amount of detailing to it, giving layers to it and making it look more realistic. His sleeves have lines on the like they were actually sewn together.

2012-12-23_22-30-31_222

I do have a bit of an issue with his profile. His visible eye looks a little too far down. He has a very nice neck, I’m sure any vampire would love to sink their teeth into that succulent flesh, which is a second minor gripe I have with this figure. No bite marks. Way sad. His collarbone isn’t defined at all. His shirt has a red zipper and zipper pull which from this angle draws attention to his chest, but from a face on shot it strangely looks like a necklace…..

2012-12-23_22-30-52_107

Le gasp, a guy figure that’s wearing pants that fit him? They don’t cling anywhere unnecessarily. The pockets and fly are well-defined and the wrinkles around his groin are well placed. I do have to detract points though for his fingernails, they have paint globbed all over them and look horrendous.

2012-12-23_22-31-09_694

Koyomi’s watch looks really nice, it even has little knobs on the side. His knuckles are well-defined, I adore how you can see the way his fingers being curled affects the back of his hand. That is a gorgeous touch.

2012-12-23_22-31-00_869

His lower back has some great wrinkles on it, the varying directions of them look very natural. I also like the lack of wrinkles directly under his butt. This shows that his pants aren’t skin-tight and clinging to his flesh.

2012-12-23_22-30-56_56

His hand rests easily on his hip, relaxed. Whereas his hand does have knuckle definition it does not have the same reaction on the back of this hand.

2012-12-23_22-31-35_140

I’m so happy to have a figure whose clothes aren’t sticking to them. Even his legs, which most sculptor’s believe thighs and calves need to be clearly defined through pants, show that this Koyomi is in a casual pose.

2012-12-23_22-31-35_140

The back of his pants show ample wrinkles at his knees.

2012-12-23_22-31-56_40

His shoes are kind of cute, but would have been cuter with shoe laces, I think the implication that they’re dress shoes takes away from the casual atmosphere of this figure just a bit.

2012-12-23_22-31-56_40

His base is a large black circle that cuts into purple on one side. Reflected in the purple is Koyomi’s bicycle. I love it. It’s simple but fitting of the character.

2012-12-23_22-32-19_748

The figure is shown clearly on the front of the box. It shows nicely what you are buying even without the aid of a window. Koyomi and Shinobu are shadowed on the side of the box with Koyomi’s bicycle, honestly I have no idea what they are doing.

2012-12-23_22-32-30_449

The back shows both Koyomi and Shinobu as well as various other Niseimonogatari figures made by Banpresto.

2012-12-23_22-33-27_570

Overall, aside from a few minor paint flaws I think Koyomi kicks serious ass! He looks great. Love it!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Koyomi Araragi Banpresto DXF

  1. colonelfancy says:

    Further proof that male figures are on the rise. They’re starting to realize that putting them in more casual poses like this will keep them from looking absolutely ridiculous. I couldn’t see the other paint flaws, but the finger nail looks like a scab from an accident in shop class. Thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

