Princess Sapphire Furyu

Header1

Of all of the authors that I adore Osamu Tezuka is near the top of the list. Princess Knight is of course one of his many masterpieces, so when I heard Furyu had announced a prize figure of the lovely little lady Princess Sapphire I was appropriately giddy.

2012-10-11_18-00-04_522

Regardless of the extremely foppish hat on  top of her head, her hair is wild and untamed. Her bangs fall just right into her chocolate-brown eyes. Her mouth is set in a thin line and she looks to be in the middle of a sword salute. I would guess that the pose for this figure was taken from when the women of the castle were dead set on protecting their Princess hell or high water. She has shoujo sparkles in her eyes, I love that, I think they caught her classic and classy look perfect.

2012-10-11_17-58-35_551

Her sword is a simple design, her gloved hand clutches the hilt of the sword. I’m actually particularly fond of the grip of the sword, it’s an incredibly simple design that speaks strongly of the life she has been forced to live. The gloves are tight fitting and show the shape of her arms nicely. The purple paint on the sleeves is a little bit off but forgivable.

2012-10-11_17-58-38_723

The bottom of her tunic clings nicely to the shape of her body and bells out just a little bit at the thigh. The white trim looks stellar and contrasts very well with the dark blue.

2012-10-11_17-58-42_700

She’s wearing white tights that accentuate her thin legs nicely. There are wrinkles at her knees and ankles, it’s really great touch of detail. I also like the pure white of the shoes, that shows a very nice contrast to the off white of her leggings. The forefoot is slightly raised as she steps forward so her heel isn’t actually touching the step.

2012-10-11_17-58-49_319

Her ears are pierced with small red studs, they look great and seeing as characters frequently loose piercings due to lazy sculptors I appreciate this detail. Her tunic is embellished by lace and  a red brooch just below her collar. This little bit of decorum matches her earrings really well. The hair at the nape of her neck is well sculpted and doesn’t look like some stupid random plastic blob.

2012-10-11_17-58-53_122

She does have a seamline running down her right arm that is a little visually distracting. Clutched in her hand down by her side is her scabbard. She’s just drawn her sword and she is ready for action.

2012-10-11_17-58-56_595

The shape of her legs is very nice from hip down to knee. It’s honestly kind of sexy how her tunic is raised with the action of stepping forward. Her cape is blowing back behind her adding a nice dynamic to the motion of the figure.

2012-10-11_17-59-05_996

The back of her hat lacks in definition, but there isn’t anything wrong with the way it looks.

Her cape connects up at her shoulders, as all good capes should, and flows out behind her.

2012-10-11_17-59-35_326

I really love how the bottom of the cape bellows out.

2012-10-11_18-00-28_490

The base is a staircase that she’s ascending as she prepares to fight. The stairs have a defined line for each stone that makes them up.

2012-10-11_18-00-42_90

To make it more aesthetically pleasing they placed roses around the steps, white to symbolize the purity of Sapphire’s heart. The roses are beautifully sculpted, and the leaves are equally nice. It’s a beautiful base and perfect for a pretty little princess.

2012-10-11_18-03-43_663

Overall I love her. She will look perfect with some of the smaller kids from the Osamu Tezuka collection.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Princess Sapphire Furyu

  1. Dandycorsets says:

    Great review. Hope i can get my hands on her someday.
    I love the last picture, all my favorites, it’s just missing blackjack awesomeness lol.<3

Leave a Reply

