Yu Narukami Sunny Side Up

Header

The dry leader of the investigation team Yu Narukami is a character whom I did not honestly think I would end up enjoying anywhere near as much as I have. That enjoyment was nearly doubled when I got a 1/8 scale Yu as part of my birthday present.

2012-11-23_10-28-23_263

I can start by saying his face is perfect. I personally am certain he was born with this look on his face. His eyes are dead serious as he stares straight ahead, his mouth is set in a firm line, his lips are full and I appreciate that they aren’t glossed or painted in any way. I also like how true to form his bangs fall into his eyes.

2012-11-23_10-28-35_605

My god I’ll never get over this shirt, the ridiculous popped collar still makes me laugh. His shirt has an ample amount of wrinkles. He also has a nicely defined collarbone. His jacket is blown back by a wind that clearly can’t penetrate his bangs. He has a scuff on his jackets lining, it breaks my heart, but it’s there. The buttons are well painted and the white stitches are clear and crisp.

2012-11-23_10-28-41_103

So Yu unlike Nao-Chan (ext: https://somewhereinthemidstofnowhere.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/naoto-shirogane-sunny-side-up/ ) has no idea how to dress himself properly. His shirt looks positively silly untucked like that. I do have to give credit where it’s due though, Yu’s wearing a belt, you can see the belt buckle through the opening at the bottom of his shirt. His pants have a lot of well placed wrinkles around the crotch and thighs.

2012-11-23_10-28-47_293

His pants cling to his legs nicely umm….I’m guessing that he doesn’t believe in fabric softener. Well at least it isn’t Kotetsu’s pants. (Ext: https://somewhereinthemidstofnowhere.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/kotetsu-t-kaburagi-ichiban-kuji/) Its not bad but it definitely qualifies as cling. As is standard for sensei he’s wearing his standard black loafers with the X stitching on them. The look really good.

2012-11-23_10-28-54_643

Mr. Narukami has one arm outstretched, he’s ready to summon his Persona. Yu’s hand is really awesome, if you look really close his palm actually has lines on it. His fingers are clenched ever so slightly and give off a slightly tense appearance. His hair looks great from the side and his glasses go just slightly over his ears. The rainbow design on them (his glasses not his ears) looks nice. His collar has his school year buttoned on it.

2012-11-23_10-29-04_753

His jacket has some nice wrinkles underneath his arm, that looks really good, however his arms weren’t pushed together well so it looks like a seam split at his armpit. There is also a small injection mark at the bottom of his coat. He also has button holes along his jacket.

2012-11-23_10-29-10_694

It kind of bothers me a little bit that I even noticed it, but the wrinkles down by Yu’s bum look great. He actually has a great butt in general.

2012-11-23_10-29-18_683

His hair looks a little bit blobbish in back, but I get the distinctive feeling that might have been done on purpose. Yu’s never had the most defined character design and I think this is honestly perfect for that. His shoulder blades however are clearly defined through the back of his blazer. From this angle it makes him seem strong and in control.

2012-11-23_10-29-40_165

The buttons on the back of his jacket are well painted and the stitches are still crisp and clear. In a manner consistent with the front of the figure his jacket is blowing upwards. I really like how it makes the opening on the back of the jacket look a little strained.

2012-11-23_10-29-47_98

His pants have great crinkles at the knees and the bottom of the legs.

2012-11-23_10-30-00_920

Yu’s button down shirt is a truly ludicrous shirt. Not only is that collar atrocious but when you add in how it kind of bells out at the bottom as well as his evident hatred of buttons….what convinces me he hates them? Well between kings game, the open jacket, and the popped open cuffs it was pretty obvious. This makes the cuffs look ridiculously large. His fist is clenched down at his side adding to the tense look of Yu. His knuckles are clearly defined, this is how a fist should look.

2012-11-23_10-30-06_333

I like how his legs are defined through his pant legs, though I still question his fabric softener I do like his legs.

2012-11-23_10-30-22_461

His base is black with a white grid on it, it has the name of the show emblazoned on it in an east to read white font. It’s a pain to get him to stand on the thing though. The pegs move which makes it very difficult to work with.

2012-11-23_10-32-09_598

The sides of the box show Yu both with and without glasses. The color theme for him is a lighter shade of blue than Nao-chan.

2012-11-23_10-32-22_567

The back shows the figure in all its spectacular glory.

2012-11-23_10-28-06_857

Overall presuming you can get past sensei’s horrible fashion sense this is a really great figure of him to own.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Exclusives, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

