Naoto Shirogane Sunny Side Up

I have the best sister and husband in the world. For my cough cough birthday they conspired to get me thirty tickets for the Persona 4 Happy Kuji drawing. They know me well enough to know that I would want that 1/8 scale Naoto badly. Impressively they managed to pull all but one of the available prizes. Nice job guys!

Ever the serious character Nao-chan has a few interesting things about her that really stand out. The fact that she has tareme eyes signifies that she is still a lot younger than she would like to appear. Her eyes are focused ahead as she’s clearly in deep thought. Her lips are full and don’t show even a hint of lip gloss. Her hair frames her face nicely without really falling into her eyes, this is because she wants to be clean cut. Her fingers rest perfectly on her chin adding to the thoughtful feel of this figure. I will be honest though I think her neck is a little too thick.

Her chest is flat as a board, there’s no sign of feminine curves to be found on her. The positioning of her arms looks ver natural, she doesn’t look to stiff or stifled. As always the paint job on the Persona school uniforms looks great, although I would have preferred her blue blazer. Fortunately Taito (words I never thought I’d type) is covering us on that side of her wardrobe in a few long monthes.

Her school jacket is a little bit open at the bottom and provides a great view of her legs. Please note that she even irons her pants like a sophisticated man, how cute Nao-chan.

Cutting into our detective prince’s sophistication a little bit, and almost as character revealing as her eye shape, is that her pants are folded up at the bottom because they are simply too big for her. A sign that her chosen path is too big maybe? Or maybe Soejima just thought it would be cute. Then there’s the platform shoes, overcompensating a little? She really should have just worn normal dress shoes, it would look less obvious that way. Ah well, the sculpt is great on her shoes, the folded up part of her pants should have some form of wrinkles though, that just looks unnatural.

Naoto has a gorgeous profile, her nose and mouth both look stupendous. Profiles really are one of the main benefits of titles with a full lip style. On her collar you can clearly see the pin for a year 1 student. Her hat looks really nice and seeing as how she’s rarely without it, it’s a great touch on this figure. The silver buckle stands out and the ribbon around the bottom of the hat is well painted. One more thing I really like is how her glasses can be seen just over the top of her ears.

Her other hand rests lightly on her arm it kind of looks like she’s tapping her pointer finger as she’s thinking. Her elbow has a horrid seam on it. And I do mean horrid. Would it really have been that hard to make her arm one piece?

Further evidence of no feminine curves, this is why she’s my favorite cross dresser chick, she does such a good job of hiding her femininity.

The lines of her outfit are crisp and clear. I also really appreciate the wrinkles at her knees. Her leg is connected with a fairly nasty seam, however unless you are looking at her from an upward angle you’d never even notice it.

Her hat has a tiny scuff on it 😦 Her hair looks awesome from the back view. It’s got nice layers to it and the nape of her neck is damn sexy.

Her shoulders could have been pushed together better, the seams kind of stand out. The buttons on the back of her jacket also could have been painted better.

Directly across from the student’s year pin is the school symbol.

Her base is black with white stripes making it appear tiled. It says P4 Persona 4 the animation on it in clear print. It looks really good but in standard Persona 4 format the base is too big for the figure.

Continuing on my theory that the investigation team are virtually Power Rangers Nao-chan would be the Blue ranger, the brains of the outfit. As such since blue is her character color the her shadow and name are both printed in blue on the box. The opposite sides of the box show her both with and without her glasses.

Overall, she definitely has her flaws and shows room for improvement but….BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER!!!!!!!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Exclusives, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Naoto Shirogane Sunny Side Up

  1. Pingback: Yu Narukami Sunny Side Up | Somewhere In The Midst of Nowhere

Leave a Reply

