Jeanne D’Arc Bandai

As a long time fan of Arina Tanemura there was no way I was going to pass up on a figure of her most iconic character Kaitou Jeanne from the franchise Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne. Jeanne comes to us today as a 1/8 scale figure from Bandai back in 1999.

Jeanne’s hair is poorly sanded and there are points on the longer part of her bangs where i looks like paint was just glooped right on. The red paint on her tiara is partially on her forehead, which really sucks. Her eyes are well detailed however and they did do a good job of making her look pissed off. The rosary that allows her to transform is placed on her chest and is well sculpted.

The purple trim on her chest is poorly painted the purple goes all over onto the white. I do like the big bulky sleeves they ould have used a bit of wrinkles and some more sanding but all things considered they look decent. Especially the right arm.

Ok back to the purple trim again…this time it’s the red on it that totally fails. They didn’t even try to paint the entirety of each little box. It looks ridiculous, almost like each red square is supposed to have a purple outline……In Jeanne’s hand she’s clutching a rebound ball. It’s got a wire attachment that allows her to use it almost like a grappling hook. That’s pretty cool and a decent accessory to the figure. The pleats on her skirt look really good!

 

Jeanne has a decent profile, she looks quite serious. As previously stated her hair really needed to be sanded down further, but I do like the wavy aspect of it, and the curl at the bottom is super cute. Her topknot has a large red ribbon holding it in place, it looks very nice.

Her obi is very well painted though it does have a pretty bad seam on it. The hand resting on her hip has barely enough definition to tell she has fingers. This really is a questionable toy.

There’s not one but two painfully visible injection marks on each leg. Ouch.

There’s a bad seam running the full length of her ponytail. She has copyright information on both her back  and sleeve.

I adore the rope holding her obi in place it looks fantastic. I love how her hair goes down under her arm too, it looks nice.

Her base comes in three pieces, that hook together into one piece. You have to balance her between the pieces…..yeah it’s a pain. The cardboard piece is held in by a piece of tape, now that she’s found a home on my shelf I’ve secured it with a second piece of tape for good measure. I do like the picture on the cardboard, it’s a night sky with a cityscape at the bottom.

Overall this figure is horrendous, it looks cheap, feels cheap, and overall kind of sucks. If you love Jeanne as much as I do though you’ll manage t somehow get past that. I’m glad I have this toy in my collection, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

