Arsene Lupin the Third and Daisuke Jigen, Dive

Arsene Lupin the third and his merry band of cohorts have held the hearts of viewers for years. As a special treat to myself I purchased this Dive figure of Lupin, Jigen, and of course the Fiat 500.

Lupin’s cigarette is huge, the lighter is invisible, and his hands vaguely resemble paddles, but Lupin is still Lupin. He’s sitting on top of the car with his feet dangling down through the sun roof. He’s wearing his classic green jacket and yellow tie combo. He looks like he’s relaxing after a successful heist.

The inside of the car is nice. It has a gear shift, steering wheel, and buttons for the radio. It does not have seat belts so ride at your own risk. I also like the single windshield wiper even though there are no actual windows…..

The gear shift is the same color as the seats which does seem kind of lazy. The dash however is grey and contrasts nicely with the other colors in the car.

The handle on the driver’s side door is sloppily painted silver. The black lining the windows honestly isn’t much better either. The hub caps on the car are painted silver and help make the tires look really cool.

Strapped to the back of the car we have an extremely dented bucket, a tarp, and a crate. All used for nefarious purposes I’m sure. I like the sculpt here a lot, but I wish the paint on the crate looked more well crate like.

 

It’s mostly due to a piss poor paint job but the licence plate looks dented to hell. I’m kind of amused by that. The tail lights were made out of a clear red plastic, they reflect nicely in the light.

From the back you can see how Lupin’s head is down his shoulders are hunched forward just a bit too. Strangely there are no wrinkles on the back pf his jacket.

The passenger side door handle fared better than the driver’s side, but there’s still no helping those windows.

I love the tread on the tires. Also I’m amused that the silver on the exhaust pipe is only painted as far as is noticeable from the side view.

As is proper tradition Daisuke Jigen doesn’t have eyes. Just a hat pulled down low. Like Lupin his cigarette is way too big. His beard is pointy which makes me smile. I also appreciate that he has a tie clip, great touch.

For some reason they decided not to paint the front of his left sock. Odd. His shoes have little black laces too.

His hair has a little bit of definition to it, so no blob hair for Jigen. His back like Lupin’s is undefined.

Once you get past the questionable sculpt it’s pretty cool to see them together.

And if you collect Lupin toys it shouldn’t be too hard to find a Goemon to hangout with them. Heck you can even have Zenigata lurking nearby.

The box doesn’t have any pictures on it but it’s designed to look like a treasure chest which is awesome.

Overall its a cool collectors piece for Lupin fans, but the overall quality is lacking.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

