Seto Kaiba 1/7 scale Art FX

In the spirit of October when ghosts and goblins rule the night I thought we’d take a slightly different direction. A path leading us to the darker side of humanity. So here I bring I to you today one of the original anime psychos Seto Kaiba.

Kaiba’s hair is sculpted perfectly so it falls right around his eyes, there are also dark brown highlights accentuating the light brown hair in an almost halo-esque circle near the top of his head. His face is great, he looks like he’s taking his children’s card game very seriously.

His eyes are a brilliant blue, dark with just a hint of lighter blue at the center. He has bags under his eyes because we all know Kaiba can’t allow himself to do something as human as sleep. His mouth is set in a thin line, steadfast and ready to go. His jacket has silver studs lining his collar and the KC logo for his company pinned right below his collar.

I love this angle on this figure it looks like he’s casting a glance over his shoulder, perhaps to ensure that his little brother is safe or that his rival is watching. His coat positively glistens from every angle you can possibly imagine. Like his precious Blue eyes dragon it’s a pearl white that just reeks of money. They accented his shoulder blades nicely with just a hint of silver mixed with the pearl white.

His hands are sculpted beautifully his fingers are long and thin as he readies to place his first card down. Curiously the straps around Seto’s arms have no holes for the buckles, so maybe they’re part of the shirt? Or it could just be lazy sculpting. His arms are well-defined through the shirt showing just a little muscle on his teenage frame.

His silver bracers fit tight around his forearm and have a pretty decent paint job. In a mild  fit of irony Kaiba who has his hand angled down actually holds his card better than Yami who has his angled upwards…Kaiba’s necklace is a separate piece. I think the locket itself actually looks too thin, but I’m happy they included it all.

His chest is fairly simple, his locket is hanging down and there are quite a few wrinkles to accompany the movement of his overexaggerated card drawing. Because Seto’s a rich show off his belt buckle is also silver with Kaiba Corp’s KC logo right on it.

I love the wrinkles at the elbow, but there should be more around the buckles. There’s no pull there at all which is awkward. So Kaiba’s waist is something I’ve never been particularly fond of, I don’t understand the pulled up part of the jacket, I will however admit that the sculptor Shirahige Tsukuru did a marvelous job of pulling it off in 3d.

His lower back has some awesome creases to it, they all go in the direction that he’s leaning and it looks pretty good. The seam line at his waist however is pretty foul.

He’s really thin isn’t he? I mean seriously he has no waist, he’s tiny…Anyway like with the right side the left is drawn up at the waist, which does lead to some amazing folds in the fabric. You know maybe he was going for wings it seems like a Kaiba thing to do.

See it just flows down in waves, Koto did a great job with the shading it looks stupendous.

His pants fit nicely against very bony hips, his legs are thin but not so thin as to appear feminine. I think with the style of clothes that Kaiba wears they should have made his pants shiny too, the matte finish seems too dull.

Now the added effect of the coat being pulled up at the sides is what it does to the back of the coat. It gives amazing folds to the area right around the butt. The shading here is also fabulous.

All the way around the back measuring tip to tip this jacket is 15 inches. That’s crazy, and impressively Koto made it all one piece. I must admit to being impressed by that.

His boots are the exact same color as his pants and the top of said boots are covered by the purple straps on his legs. The only way you can tell shoe from pants is the lines on the sides go from two down to one after the second buckle.

Tip to tip from the front is 8.4 inches….seriously Seto that might be overkill. So at first I was really offput by the hot pink underside of his coat, I could have sworn it was red. Well apparently I was right and wrong at the same time. It’s red or hot pink depending on the scenes.

Like Yami before him he comes with an alternative duel disk arm. 4000 life points and no cards in play.

The underside of the duel disk shows the serations for where it would fold up.

The cards are too tall for the slots though….

Under the jacket? Sorry I couldn’t get a good shot….I’ll have Yami check…He says: I hate you for making me check. Well that was unproductive.

Overall Kaiba was one of the original megolomaniacs in anime and he served that purpose well. So for a fan of Yu-Gi-Oh, Kaiba, or psychos with way too much time on their hand this is a must have figure. Go buy it now!

At almost 11 inches tall Kaiba needed a massive box to keep him entombed. At exactly 1 foot tall his box is covered in blue. The anime pic of ‘ha I’m winning’ Seto wraps around to the side. If you look closely at the side you’ll see a shadowy image of a dragon, the circle cut out is of course the Blue Eyes ‘White Lightning Attack’.

The dragons image circles to the back and for this window we have the dragon’s wing. Lastly the left side shows pictures of Seto in all his glory.

I also thought this was worth noting.

Wether or not Seto wants him there Yami will always have his back.

Would Kaiba ever return the favor? I guess The Devil’s Sanctuary knows for sure.

It’s time to DUEL!

As an added bonus they included the Battle City blimp. Many awesome battles happened atop this thing.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seto Kaiba 1/7 scale Art FX

  1. Pingback: Noriaki Kakyoin Di Molto Bene | Somewhere In The Midst of Nowhere

Leave a Reply

