Dragon Kid Chibi Art

My first figure of Dragon Kid was this Chibi Art figure brought to us by Bandai. It’s the only Chibi Art I’ve bought so far so it’s an unbiased opinion. Let’s see where it goes!

I thought I’d start with my favorite face, it’s happy and cute, and makes me think of a hamster.  I like hamsters so it only goes to show that I’d like this face. Her eyes are shut and she has a happy smile on her face and a cute blush spreading across her cheeks. Her sponsors show clearly on her hair pieces too. Calbee which is a popular japanese snack food. I believe DMM.Com is a multimedia software company, but I’m too sure. The two little clouds that hook to the head-piece are held there by a peg each, don’t worry though they don’t fall out easily.

Her chinese style outfit is freaking cute and very well painted. The dragon decal is nicely detailed without looking ridiculously over done. The red around her collar does look a little bit over done but nothing worth crying over.

She has cute little green pumpkin shorts, the yellow paint at the bottom of the shorts strays a little bit. Her legs are really well painted and sculpted very well. Each leg does have its own joint at the top so no alternate leg pieces are needed.

Believe it or not the red band does go all the way around her head. Nice! The seam line in her hair is there to disconnect the pieces and thus put on a different face. Overall it doesn’t distract from the obvious cute factor of this toy. Also I love the obviously gelled to hell and high water ponytail, it’s very cute.

Her arms are quite well done and very cute. I love the fact that the over sized arm sleeves almost dwarf her hands entirely.

The back of her leg warmers almost touch the ground, I think that’s way too cute too.

There are a few spots in her hair that look like they weren’t smoothed out enough. Other than that however the spikes look really good.

The back of her shirt has another decal on it. This one placed just as well as the last one. Appropriately the writing on it says ‘Dragon’. Never would have seen that one coming.

Her next face is a more excited but no less happy face. This time her eyes are open wide and her smile is a huge open-mouthed grin. I will be honest here I’ve never been a very big fan of the line under the eyes thing, and I do think that takes just a little away from the cute appeal. It is however part of her character design so I’ll deal with it. I simply think on a chibi it looks awkward. The Dragon Staff looks awesome, the dragons themselves have a great sculpt. They also have little red eyes, nice touch! The staff also fits easily into her hand.

Next comes the meat buns, now if her holding these and looking at you with that hamster expression isn’t enough to turn your innards into goo then you are beyond human. The buns do not come out of her hands, so no sharing this delectable snack with anyone. The sculpt is of course simple but perfect.

Next she has an angry face, a very angry face, it’s supposed to accompany the staff but I thought why not have her be possessive of her Calbee? Yes that’s right like Blue Rose she comes with one of her endorsement items. The middle bag of chips has little finger indents in it to make it easier for her to grasp.

Her base is clear with a long pole that attaches to the back of her head. The base in yellow writing clearly reads “Dragon Kid Lightning Bolt and Kung-fu Master”. Well it gets the point across nicely anyway. It also holds her nice and stable so no complaints here.

She also comes with dialogue bubbles. I have no idea what they say though and can’t find a listing of her catchphrases anywhere online. So I figured I’d attach one to a stand to show you what it looks like and leave it at that.

If anyone can translate these please let me know.

Her box is a myriad of yellows, oranges, and reds, quite befitting of our little superhero. Of course it shows her posing on both the front and side.

The other side shows off the last of Dragon Kid’s three faces. The back showcases different options you can take when posing her.

Dragon Kid confronts a terrorist holding a grenade.

Len really wants a meat bun.

They look really cute with those snacks.

Looks like a meatbun was traded for the ice cream.

Dragon Kid and chibier Dragon Kid. Overall she’s a delightful toy that I am proud to have in my collection!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty five year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Varuna. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dragon Kid Chibi Art

  1. Kitsune says:

    Based on my limited knowledge of kanji and kana, the blue-and-yellow speech bubble on the left is the kanji for “thunder,” and the red-and-yellow speech bubble on the right says “Saa!!” which is probably just an attack sound. No idea what the other two say, though.

    Like

Leave a comment