Kurama

Of course everybody remembers the pretty Kitsune from Yu Yu Hakusho years ago, Kurama captivated a lot of people. His hair was long and red with vibrant green eyes, most of us thought he was a girl until he spoke. Well Kotobukiya in another blast from the past made a 1/8 scale Kurama to accompany Hiei and the up and coming statue of Yuusuke Urameshi.

Kurama’s hair looks great. I love the way they actually bended the tuft of hair that sticks up, you can barely see the seam at all. His bangs shadow his eyes just a little. His face is set in a manner that just screams ‘I’m ready’ He’s about to fight and somebody is about to be hurting something fierce. His left arm is raised over his head and the sleeve shows some great crinkles. His whip is clenched tightly in his hand. Honestly it hurts trying to get it back out of his hand, I really wish Koto would stop making replaceable pieces so pointy….

There is in fact a very small purple line outlining the blue on Kurama’s tabard. I can’t express how happy I am that they chose this outfit instead of the atrociously pink school uniform. Ick. And yet because it is Kurama there is a pink trim along the edges. The forest green is very nice and I appreciate that it isn’t the exact same color as his eyes. That kind of laziness drives me nuts.

The mustard yellow belt is well sculpted but curiously has no knot on it anywhere, nor does it look like it was tucked in at any point. Now it’s down at the crotch that this figure really bothers me. The way the fabric ‘v’s’ downward makes it look really feminine. It looks awkward to me. And speaking of weird this arm looks a little off too, it would be different if you tucked the whip into his hand or something, but I don’t know what he’s supposed to be doing. also you can see next to his hand the rose whip has a kinda bad seam line here.

I love the way the rest of the green fabric just seems to flow around him. It looks kind of elegant. The rose whip crosses in front of him a grand total of twice, once at his hand, and the second right around the knee. Aside from the aforementioned seam I think the whip itself looks nice and feels sturdy.

The bottom of the tabard is blown to the side just a bit, it’s a nice effect and shows that they did indeed paint the trim on both sides, or at least the illusion of it anyway. but more on that later. His pants fit tight around his ankles, ummm from here I’ve got a few more issues.The shape of his ankles specifically make it looks like even though he’s standing flat on the ground his shoes are falling off. That’s really freaking weird.

Koto did a phenomenal job on his hair for the most part. There is a visible seam where they connected the bangs to the rest of his hair, but it still looks good. There are even little bits of dark pink shading so as not to make it blobtastic.

I think from the side, if you remove the accessories he looks like he’s doing a really weird dance. That could be why this arm bothers me so much. Or it could be that I’m insane and the arm in question looks fine and perfectly natural…well either way.

If you force it you can make the rose whip rest between his fingers. There is however a strong possibility of this causing a unneccasary paint transfer so I don’t actually recommend it. Now where the tabard splits apart we can see that in all actuality Koto did not paint the trim on the inside instead they just painted at the point where the bottom folds over a bit. How cheap of them.

The wrinkles and folds around his knees look really great. I’m impressed they put so much detail on something that you can’t see from most angles. I really like the way his pants look honestly.

Oh goodness back to his feet…. Because there’s no curve of the achilles tendon on this figure it looks like his feet are swollen which looks stupid. Really really stupid.

The wrinkles on the backside of his arm are very well done, they look realistic and are very well placed. His hair has the most subtle details etched into, just tiny little lines. Barely visible unless you’re paying really close attention.

The design on the back of his tabard flows nicely from the front but is not the exact same pattern which I think is a nice touch. The wrinkles on the back of it look pretty good too without drawing attention away from the design itself.

Kurama is a little bit weird here on the backside. I don’t know how to say this without sounding like a complete freak of nature so I’ll just be out with it. His butt looks too low. I mean like it starts too low and then goes down too low and…see I knew I’d sound weird.

The back of the tabard flows just as nicely as the front does, it’s caught in the same wind that has his hair tousled. I’m always a sucker for that.

No seriously I really hate his ankles.

The connection between shoulder and arm look bad. I know that the arm is switchable but is that any excuse for this flaw? No I don’t think it is. I have seen a lot of other sculptors get this done right. Aside from that I like the folds on the side of the tabard.

He has pants pockets which is a nice touch, I also love the wrinkles down the pant legs. Very nice.

He comes with an alternate arm for holding two roses. This looks, well like he’s about to stick one in his mouth and start sambaing around the room. It’s not horrible though, It takes up less space then the whip does which is good for the collector who’s conserving on space.

You also can’t see the shoulder gap as well with this arm.

Kurama’s base is a clear red with swirling rose petals on it. The petals are silver and good. Like Hiei before him his base is on a raised dais so you can put the three Yu Yu Hakusho figures together. Hopefully Yuusuke’s base isn’t taller still or he  might look like he’s standing on a building.

The front of the box features an anime picture of Kurama with his hair being swept by he wind, there are also little pink flower petals being blown about. The side shows the figure posed with the two roses in hand.

The other side shows another picture window and a shot of his face. The back gives a nice picture of both display options. Looking good.

Overall I walked away from this review less vehemently angry then I did Hiei so I guess all is good. His feet have major malfunctions and I’ll never like the right arm but It’s overall a good figure for fans.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

