Hatsune Miku Mikumo 6

Ahem I think the most appropriate place to start off this review is oops. I meant to post this review about two months ago but she got lost in the shuffle. Regardless though here is my take on Mikumo #6.

This is the Yume Miru Kotori version Miku. She looks very true to the illustration. Her hair ornaments look very nice though a little bit chunky. Her eyes are huge but not very expressive, I can’t really read anything off of her facial expression. I really love the way her hair splits and falls over her right shoulder.

Her Kimono is a lovely shade of dark red, the light red obi makes a very nice contrast to it. The butterflies look pretty good too, the colors stand out nicely.  The decals are smoothly applied, all in all her kimono looks great.

Her hands and feet are regrettably fairly poor in sculpt. Her fingers look far too short and aren’t really doing anything, and her feet have no arch to them, they’re extremely flat. I do like her knees however, the slightly open Kimono presents just a bit of leg for a faint hint of sex appeal.

The paint job on the hair ornaments is pretty good, for the most part it stays right where it’s supposed to. I think the concept of various hair trinkets is nice too. It calls attention away from the design on her kimono and brings some focus back on her head.

Her hair pools back behind her, nicely. However it has next to no detail to it. It looks weird. She has a nice profile, I think her profile honestly looks better than the face does from the front.

From the back view her twin tails have some extremely unsightly seams. From the front view though they’re invisible.

I think her kimono sleeves look too tight.

The woodwork behind her looks very nice. It brings about a bit more of a traditional Japanese feel. It’s nice makes it feel like she’s in a geisha house.

The lantern that rests beside her reads Yume Miru Kotori, which is the song that this particular figure is based off of. However whereas I think the writing is really cool, the lantern itself is fairly generic looking. There’s no definition to the wood and the paneling just looks well….. painted on.

Overall she’s fairly decent. I definitely have better Miku’s but to complete the Mikumo set or just to have a figure of Miku in a kimono she’s worth the 40 dollar range. I wouldn’t recommend paying more than that though.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hatsune Miku Mikumo 6

  1. Pingback: Collection Within A Collection: Hatsune Miku | Somewhere In The Midst of Nowhere

Leave a Reply

