Hiei Kotobukiya Art FX

Someone in Japan recently decided to take a step back and look at a few older franchises that were in serious need of love, Yu-Gi-Oh, Hunter X Hunter, and Yu Yu Hakusho just to name a few. Seeing as I got my hands on another one of those figures here we have it todays offering: Hiei!

Hiei is by far one of the most awesome reproductions I’ve ever seen, at least from the neck up anyways. His dual-colored hair looks awesome. I love the fact that it’s actually layered without being marred by some horrible looking seam line. He has his headband covering his forehead as per normal, though you can’t see it too well because of his bangs. His red eyes look great. Honestly they’ve always made me think of a bug…. And the edges of his shirt are all fantastic, they’re all torn up which is really cool looking.

 

Then there’s the hunk of plastic that makes up his legs, it just looks so perfectly straight, I hate it. I know they’re poofy but for the love of everything sacred and holy the move Hiei’s using on this figure means that energy and wind should be whipping around him like crazy and this is what they do with his pants? Ripples or wrinkles on the side please, anything would be better!

 

From the profile Hiei has no mouth. That’s kind of lame too. but I’d prefer it to a standard shonen pumpkin grin. From the side angle his collar-bone looks great and very defined.

The bandage that is regularly wrapped around his left arm is clenched tightly in his right hand. The sculpt of the hand itself is great but the bandage could have been done better. It looks too pristine and clean not very Hiei at all.

The bandage does wrap nicely around his arm though and it twists on itself which does look nice.

From the back his hair looks amazing, from the tips of his spikes all the way down to the nape of his neck. It looks great and perfectly layered, I love it.

The back of his shirt has nothing, no wrinkles, folds, or creases. It’s boring it doesn’t even have wrinkles were it’s supposed to be tucked in. No tenseness in his shoulders. Nothing.

The Darkness Dragon looks awesome and kind of like a grape jolly rancher. It’s teeth are sharp, very pointy. The textures very nice, there’s nothing sleek or smooth about this guy (unlike Hiei’s pants.) It just looks cool.

It wraps once around the scrawny thing that we refer to as a bicep and hooks into his shoulder. It does detach very easily though so be careful.

His alternate arm has the dragon tattoo on it. It’s a dark purple almost black. I’m so glad it doesn’t have an indented line around it. I also like that the tatt goes the full length of his arm. From shoulder to knuckles, it shows a devotion to this move.

Just another angle on the tattoo. It looks cool enough that I thought it deserved multiple pics…..

Then there’s this, It’s Hiei’s alternate face! This face is smiling, god help whatever poor sap he’s fighting, it’s a smile that promises a quick death. However I don’t understand the point of this face at all. I would guess that the purpose was to have a face with his Jagan on display. But given that he didn’t come with an alternate bangs piece you can barely even see the stupid thing.

Hiei’s base is really cool. Cooler then the figure even. The transparent blue flames licking at the silver looks amazing. It’s also slightly raised so it can overlap with other bases. It’s very nice and I am very fond of it.

The box has a large picture window on it, it gives a great view of the figure itself. The bottom of it is a nice red and purple blend that creeps up the side of the box, kind of like it’s gathering there….. It also shows an anime style picture of Hiei holding his sword that this figure does not in fact possess.

The back of the box shows both display options for him. It looks really cool on the back of the box.

Dirtied bandages, bangs split for the Jagan to be visible, confidant smirk on his features, and with some freaking muscular structure. This is how Hiei SHOULD look using the Darkness Dragon. This figure is more aesthetically pleasing I will admit but it’s soooooooooooooooo not right.

Overall it’s not a bad figure really….oh who the heck am I kidding. After the virtual masterpiece that was the Art FX line Yami I was totally looking forward to this and the thing is ridiculous. Shoulders up he’s freaking amazing. If this were a bust I’d give it a ten. As it stands though I think a 5 is a more than generous overall score.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hiei Kotobukiya Art FX

  1. colonelfancy says:

    Man, seems a bit like a letdown. It does look cool, but as you spoke, upon further inspection, Hiei had a bad day while shooting.

Leave a Reply

