Kotetsu T. Kaburagi Banpresto DX

Kotetsu T. Kaburagi, one of the two title characters of the hit show Tiger & Bunny, is here with us today for the debut of his third scale figure.  This time around it’s the Banpresto Dx that we’ll be viewing.

Kotetsu’s face looks kind of off to me, I think for starters his nose looks too big. His eyes are good, well detailed. The crow’s feet however are way too dark and they stand out way too much. It’s calling attention to the fact that this guy’s old in all the wrong ways. It would have been better if instead of black they had used a shade just darker then his actual skin tone. His mouth is fine, I think the smirk on his face combined with how he’s adjusting his tie speaks of confidence.

This figure honestly had me giddy right from the get go, I was so excited about the concept of a Kotetsu figure that didn’t have it’s hand on his hat. The tie, I could totally deal with that. It looks good too, although I do think his hands look a little bit too large. The studs on the tie are all painted accurately. The vest looks pretty good, no real paint flaws too speak of and I’m particularly fond of the breast pocket.

Just above the waistline of his pants you can see just a bit of green undershirt, this is a very nice touch. Kotetsu’s accessories look good in general. His belt, watch, and bracelet all look just like they are supposed to. No paint flaws or sculpting issues. Thankfully his pants don’t hug him as tightly as some of his other figures do.

Kotetsu has fairly long legs which is good, he already looks infinitely smaller then the Antonio counterpart.

I do think Banpresto’s lovely sculptors really could have done a way better job with his shoes though. His feet look way to flat and you can’t even tell he has shoelaces. Just a little more effort guys….

He has a great profile, although there’s no denying that his goatee looks utterly ridiculous from any angle. I love the slight shading on his hat and the little buckle is a nice touch.

His waist is thin but not ill-proportioned. Aside from his really big hands and really flat feet his body looks really good. The shirt itself is in fact two toned, the base is an emerald-green with a darker almost forest green shading to it.

Kotetsu does in fact still have his wedding ring. It’s just a simple silver band but I am glad they included it regardless. The positioning of his fingers is also pretty cool, I love curled fingers, and the thumb resting just slightly in his pocket is a great touch.

His hair is fabulous I love the multiple layers of spikes as well as the fact that they go in different directions. Very nice! Kotetsu’s shoulders are broad but honestly look a little boxy…

I love it when they actually put seams on clothes to show where they should have been sewn together, that’s always so cool. Also the buckle at the small of Kotetsu’s back is a very nice touch because it explains the wrinkles around his waist perfectly.

His box suits him well with green, black, and white covering the small bits of box that aren’t taken up by pictures of Kotetsu himself. There are no windows but if you can’t figure out what you’re buying from the box itself then you’ve gotta be a total space cadet.

Overall I really like this figure from the shoulders down, his face however has a few glaring problems that I can’t get past.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

