Leorio Dx

🙂 Finally the time has come, we’ve reviewed Banpresto’s Gon, Kurapika, and Killua, of the four lead characters the only one remaining is the ever awesome Leorio.

This is totally a great toy. I love the expression on his face! The light grey shading on his sunglasses implies light refracting off of them. I like how his pupils are shifted to the side as well it makes for a great way to see his eyes regardless of the dark glasses.

Leorio’s outfit is fairly simple, he’s not really a fighter and way more interested in making money then getting his hands dirty, which is reflected in the stylish blue suit he can almost always be found wearing. And Banpresto did a fairly good job of catching that suit in a 3D format, however the paint does get a little bit iffy where the jacket meets the shirt. The tie looks good however.

The jacket slims down at the waist and conforms nicely to Leorio’s body. THe crinkles in his clothes look natural as well. The black buttons stand out surprisingly well against his dark suit jacket as well. The hand in his pocket is done good also, unlike most figures with hands hidden away from sight like this, there’s a bulge right where his hand should be. A very nice touch from Banpresto indeed.

Leorio has long legs of course, being the tallest of the group, he towers over the other three! His shoes are a very shiny black, they look freshly shined.

I kind of fear his sunglasses breaking, the piece is fairly thin, but as long as you aren’t rough with him I think it should be alright. He has awesome sideburns by the way.

And from the back the little spikes that make up his hair look terrific. The hand up by his face is pretty good too, I’m quite happy with how the pinky, ring, and middle finger are curled into a partial fist leaving his pointer finger touched to his cheek. They could have done a bit better with the hair at the nape of his neck however.

He has a great back, broad shoulders that lead down to a slim waist, there you get wrinkles from the jacket and the added folds from it being bunched up on the right side. A very nice back indeed. I’m quite fond of the seam running down his back as well, especially where it crosses the crinkles, it’s no longer a straight line at that point which is always an appreciated touch.

The coat tails obscure the view of his posterior, which since it’s Leorio and I love him (though not quite like that) is ok. The wrinkles down at his knees, and more specifically at his left knee look great and a nice sense of realism to the figure.

His base like the other three, is an orange rectangle the reads the name of the show. Hunter X Hunter. It supports him very well.

Leorio comes in a standard Banpresto box. It has no windows with which to see the figure. It does however display a picture of him on each of the four sides.

Strangely inside the box was this cardboard triangle. It’s meant to protect the figure from harm, but is cheaper than plastic, it’s also bio degradable. It’s an interesting touch but I still prefer the plastic confines they usually come in compared to these cardboard coffins.

They look amazing all together, I have no regrets about buying the set!

So overall I think Leorio looks great, the only real problems are the sloppy paint job on his shirt, and displaying him from the front view it’s difficult to see his eyes. Other than that he’s a marvelous figure and a true gem for any fan of Hunter X Hunter.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leorio Dx

Leave a Reply

