Rei Ayanami New Line Version

Everyone who collects figures will at some point run into that figure that they want more than anything else in the world. They are most notably known as Holy Grail figures. The figures that you want so much but always seem to be just beyond your reach. Well that’s where I always assumed the New Line Cold Cast Rei would be. Out of my reach…Then one day as I was checking Ebay for a distinctively different statue of Rei, I saw her up for sale, at just under two hundred dollars. I did what any collector would do with their Holy Grail staring them in the face….I pounced on it.

Her face is beautiful, as her eyes study the book in front of her. She looks focused on it, and a little bit sad, the expression is gorgeous. I love the shades in her eyes it really looks like she’s looking at the book. Her hair frames her face nicely and shows quite a bit of detailing to it.

The book slides into her hand very easily. I like the fact that her fingers are splayed so it takes the way she’s holding it look more casual. Most figures would just have the fingers all together while holding something of this sort. Her clothes have an admirable amount of wrinkles, her shoulders are kind of slouched down in a manner that implies relaxation.

Ok, I love this, she’s actually sitting on her skirt, and it’s legitimately bunched up underneath her. Thank you New Line! I like the fact that her ankles are crossed as well it feels very ladylike. The black socks that she’s wearing show a nice contrast to her pale skin.

The shading on her hair is extremely subtle, with dark blue lines and very pale blues mingling with her regular shade of blue.

One arm rests comfortably across her knees. I seriously love this girl’s pose, I think she looks completely at ease.

Her legs are nice and shapely, her calves are in perfect proportion to her feet and her thighs. The paint at the top of her socks wavers just a little bit, but it’s barely noticeable.

The definition to her hair is great, I love the fact that she actually has a defined part in her hair. No one with messy hair ever has a defined part! I can’t express how happy this concept made me.

Her hair actually look great all around, the uneven sculpt actually makes it look bouncy which is really awesome.

Her back is a little less detailed than I would normally prefer, there is a lack of defining wrinkles in her clothing that honestly looks a bit awkward.

Her skirt however is splendid. I love how it bunches up, it’s the genuine look you would get from a girl sitting in a skirt. All too often you’ll get a figure of a girl sitting down with her skirt spread out all around her, so she’s sitting with her pristine little white panties on the ground. That drives me freaking awol.

The book she’s reading has scribbles in it, no actual words, but it’s an adorable touch nonetheless.

The cover of the book is extremely simple, brown with a little box where the title should be.

As an added bonus this Rei even comes with a 1/6 scale Penpen! Sweet!

Penpen kind of looks like he’s smirking to me, given that I thought Fukurou was the only bird capable of this I was definitely amused.

From the side he looks a little less smirky and a little more confused. The paint on him is great though, the shading on his beak in particular looks amazing.

I mean seriously a 1/6 scale penguin to add to my collection! That is soo cool in so many different ways.

He has some very chubby thighs which is adorable. His little webbed toes actually have rigged detailing on them. His little talons? Nails? Claws? Whatever you want to call them could have been painted better, they have little flaws all over them.

I guess since penguins don’t fly it’s ok that his wings are ridiculously comically fat.

Overall this is a near perfect representation of everyone’s favorite beer guzzling penguin.

I hope he’ll be a good friend to the OCD penguin that I have coming in 1/10 format at the end of september.

The texture on the tree that serves as a base is perfect, the bark looks and feels rough.

The base has a nice grass/ dirt appeal, perfect for a cute girl to be reading under a tree. There’s also a slightly indented spot for where Rei herself sits, there’s no spot for Penpen so I usually just sit him next to her. Also the way the dirt looks at the base of the tree is a perfect finishing touch for this piece.

Together it looks great. Was it worth the hunt? Yes. Without a doubt. I’ve collected figures of Rei for years but this is a shining jewel in my collection! Seriously out of the 50+ figures of her that I own this one is by far my favorite!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rei Ayanami New Line Version

  1. cb27ded says:

    She’s beautiful and I especially love her hair.

Leave a Reply

