Yukimura Sanada Nendoroid Phat Company

Characters: Yukimura Sanada

Series: Sengoku Basara

Sculptor: M.I.C. Yaichi, and Nendoron

Manufacturer: Phat Company

Release Date: April 2012

Yukimura Sanada, one of the heroes of the Sengoku Era, has been shrunk down to the tiny form of a nendoroid. This particular version of Yukimura is brought to us from the Capcom franchise Sengoku Basara.

The young Tiger of Kai is quite the cute little fellow. As with all the nendos I have experience with, his facial features are smooth, and evenly spaced. They also chose really great expressions for him. He has this awesome happy face. It looks like Takeda just gave him a compliment.

They also made sure to give him a yelling face. He can’t fight with Date without a yelling face. Mine is going to have to settle for fighting Dragonkid, as I didn’t buy Date.

Lastly is my favourite. interpret as you will, but I think this face might look like he just got thunked on the head, or possibly like he is angry. Sanada don’t you shake that fist at me.

He also comes with three sets of hands. One set consists of little fists. These make for a couple very cute poses.

The other two sets are grasping hands. The subtle difference is the wrist. One set allows him to hold his pole-arm at a downward angle, the other set lets him hold it level.

You can also remove the blades from the dual weapons, and slide each one onto the longer staff. Now you have a dual bladed pole-arm. Sexy!

The last extra accessory that Yukimura comes with is a pair of extra pieces for his headband. These two lay flat, where as the other two appear to be caught up in a breeze. Makes for a great action option. Not only does his headband have jointed pieces, but his ponytale swivels as well.

The details on this figure are pretty true to his character design. His clothing has several tiny painted accents. The flames on his pant legs look great!

He even has his six coin necklace. This piece is a single bead, with a wire chain. Could be very easy to lose while changing his expressions.

He comes with two bent arms, and one bent leg as well. Heh. I almost forgot about his extra limbs. Sanada can run, jump, or rest his weapon on his shoulder. I’m sure there are many more fun options out there.

Yukimura’s base is the older nendo style. I am not real fond of it. I love the circle design, but the piece that holds him up is nothing special. It barely works. Wiggle the table a bit, and off he goes. I really thing these need an upgrade around the board, not just for some of them…

Here is his complete inventory. He comes with just enough to be entertaining, but not quite enough for hours of fun. He got a bit boring, kind of fast.

His box is standard. It has a big window on the front for easy viewing. Pictures of him in various sample images litter the sides, and back.

I have found with my collection of nendoroids, there are lively nendos, and stiff nendos. It seems that there are a handful of these stiff  little buggers floating about. Sanada, Army-san, and Al Azif look totally lifeless. Really no matter how I seem to pose them, it doesn’t change this fact. However, Miku, Len, Rin, and Sonic look great, no matter what I do with them. I am not so sure what it is that makes this difference, but it is a very obvious blemish on them.

Pros:

Great paint job.

Cool weapon options.

Good articulation.

Awesome expressions.

Cons:

Base doesn’t work well.

Odd stiff look to figure.

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yukimura Sanada Nendoroid Phat Company

  1. colonelfancy says:

    Really nifty attention to detail on him here. Two minor details I’m a fan of here, I like the hair being compressed in the back of his head by the band and flowing over it as well. A nice touch, as most toys I see just have the hair flat, figuring as long as it looks good in the front, who cares? And two, the angry eyebrows over the head band in front. I’ve never tired of that gag, and seeing it on a nendo is WIN for me.

  2. Cloudedmind says:

    Glad to know I’m not the only one with a problem with his stand. Mine always ends up leaning back on it, so he’s never standing up straight, but instead has his feet up in the air. Other then that I really like the little guy.

Leave a Reply

