What a shock! A post about characters I never thought I’d fall in love with.

Everyone has a character that they’ve fallen in love with, but what about characters you didn’t  think you’d love? Well here are the top ten characters that I’ve grown to adore much to my surprise….

Yzak Joule

10.) Gundam Seed was a funny one for me. I was pretty sure right from the get go that I knew who I liked and who I didn’t like. Athrun Zala best thing since sliced bread, Lacus Clyne was super cute, even Kira Yamato had his endearing traits. Then there was that guy, Yzak Joule, I didn’t like him. He was angry, mean, and I had nothing good to say about the guy. Until the end of the first series anyway. Talk about a character turn around, now there’s a Megahouse Yzak statue in my collection O_O.

 
Barnaby Brooks Jr

2.) Back when I was first thinking about the vague possibility of investing my time in Tiger & Bunny I looked quite thoroughly over the characters. The designs for the Banpresto DX figure line are actually what ended up dragging me in. Barnaby Brooks Jr couldn’t have looked more dislikable if he had tried. Fortunately for me he was everything I was anticipating, a true blue jerk, I mean this guy has attitude problems in spades. What I wasn’t expecting was to fully support him in his actions and for him to be so freaking cool.  I think the amazingly pragmatic Kazuma Yagami from Kaze No Stigma helped open the door for me to like characters like Barnaby.

Colonello

3.) Katekyo Hitman Reborn held quite a few surprises for me, from my growing admiration of Sawada Tsunayoshi to my immense dislike of Hayato Gokudera, but none of that could have prepared me for my like of Colonello. I was dead set on the fact that I wasn’t going to like any of the Arcobaleno, they looked stupid and I wasn’t going to fall into that trap. So naturally I was killed by a flashback, Colonello and Lal Mirch had such great interaction that I couldn’t help myself, I fell in love. Now wether he’s a midget or a full grown man I can’t help but grin everytime he makes an appearance.

 

4.) This is the story of a girl, that girl is a freakishly strange stalker. For that matter she’s down right creepy, so how did she make it on this list? Well it started with a heavy dose of my favorite character Shouma Takakura interacting with her and ended with so much character development on the part of Ringo Oginome that I was amazed. I genuinely hated this girl at the beginning of the franchise and by the end of it, I adored her. We watched her grow, fall in love, and develop into her own person.

Kirino Kousaka

5.) I thought Kousaka Kirino from Oreimo honestly looked like a knock off Asuka Langely, not that that’s a bad thing, but knock offs always put me on edge, even when in the case of Asuka it’s a character I really like. So as I watched her Kirino actually made me think increasingly of…well… myself. She’s extremely outspoken but at the same time very defensive about her hobbies. She’s very clear on what she likes and doesn’t like and is more then willing to say so. All in all Kirino stands out in a very good way.

Tachibana Kippei

6.) As a fan of The Mighty Ducks movies for great many years I learned one tride and true fact, enemy sports teams are always evil. So when I ran into Kippei Tachibana in Prince of Tennis who was not only on another team but also looked offputtingly like a younger Chrollo Lucifer I knew I wasn’t gonna like the guy. Or so I thought, Prince of Tennis does an amazing job of throwing the completely evil sports team cliche right out the window. I found my eyes lighting up everytime Kippei was on the screen, you see he was a really nice guy, calculating sure, but he’s a team captain, he has to be.

Rue


7.) I had a bit of trouble trying to decide if Princess Tutu would be represented by Fakir or Rue. In the end I settled on Rue, she’s the lead antagonist in the series and that is what makes her stand out on this list. She’s got a lot to her character wise, and she’s not afraid to give her all in everything she does. She makes a stellar rival for Ahiru and overall is pretty cool. I totally rooted for her and the Prince in the end.


Eiri Yuki

8.) Gravitation’s Eiri Yuki was another one that came as a surprise because he doesn’t fit into my usual pool of interests at all. As far as yaoi and shonen ai go I’m usually more of an uke type of girl. In Gravi though I found that I liked Yuki infinately more then Suuichi. Yuki just had it all by comparision, better looks, cooler attitude, better story, and I have some sort of weakness for characters who smoke.


Chang Wufei

9.) When Gundam Wing first aired on Cartoon Network (and god help me I’m probably the only person who remembers this) they showed short commercial character snippets for each of the five Gundam pilots. I knew I was going to like the chick with the braid (oops) right from the get go, and I thought I’d like Quatre as well…Thus the reason that my unnatural fondness for Chang Wufei came as such a monumental surprise. I think he was the first angry guy I really liked. Part of this was due to the Episode Zero manga which in part explained why Wufei was so angry.

Shinji Ikari

10.) I hated everything about Neon Genesis Evangelion the first time I tried to watch it. I mean everything (an exceedingly cruel individual had me watch the last disc first….). Thus my initial impression of Shinji Ikari was not a good one. A few years later I decided to give it another go and start at the beginning this time. It worked out a lot better and as I watched I grew to strongly empathize with Shinji, I mean his life really did suck.

There you have it, ten characters who rose above initial impression to be really freaking cool!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

