Natsumi Hinata, Summer Angel, Megahouse

I’ve loved Sergeant Frog for a while now, but I just couldn’t find the right piece of merchandise to represent it in my collection. Finally though I layed eyes on Natsumi, seeing as she was already my favorite character in the franchise I had zero qualms with bringing her home to live with me.

Hinata Natsumi is one of the two children in the Hinata household. She is by far the more pragmatic of the two siblings. She has no problem with punishing the alien frogs for their antics, whereas her brother Fuyuki wants to be their friend. Natsumi is strong, good at sports, and overall pretty freaking awesome.

Natsumi’s head is great. Her eyes are large and vibrant and the smile on her face seems fairly genuine. The slight blush on her cheeks is also a nice touch. Her pigtails are windblown, although her bangs aren’t, I’m sure that’s just for aesthetics though.

Natsumi’s ribbon is also blown up which as always looks great. Her back is arched back and because of this her ample chest is on display. However it does look more natural than other similar figures (see: Append Miku) given the specific pose she’s in.

I adore the positioning of her arms, it’s so standard of learning to fly to either have your arms at your sides or up over your head, and I’m glad that they went with down. I mean can you imagine Natsumi in a Superman pose? It would look ridiculous.

Her skirt looks great! It looks very wind whipped and shows off an awesome amount of hip and thigh. Sexy Natsumi, very sexy! However if your more conservative you’ll want to display her on a shelf below eye level, not that most anime fans are scared of short skirts and panty shots. Besides her legs are gorgeous, long, luscious, and oh so shapely. The curve of her hips and the way they dip down to the knee…heavenly. Natsumi is an athlete and clearly the sculptor was well aware of that fact.

And the sexiness of her legs continues down to her calves which are just as shapely as the rest of her leg…nice! The high stockings are a nice touch too, and they bunch up a bit at the ankle which is very natural looking.

Her ankles are bent causing her feet to point downward. Her shoes are fairly simple, brown pennyloafers. They slip onto the foot and have a slight heel on the back.

Her hands are quite nice as well, her fingers are long and look quite delicate. I like the partially splayed look as well it breathes some life into the figure.

She has a decent profile, like most anime figures something looks a little off about it, but I’m honestly not even sure what it is. The way her back is arched looks a bit uncomfortable it’s a bit overdone but not horrible. The clear peg holding up her halo is barely visible from the front view which is an added bonus. It’s also removable so if you don’t like it you don’t need to display it.

Now this is where this figure gets awkward, her legs are kind of….well yeah…she’s leaning waaaay forward which is fine it doesn’t inhibit her ability to stand at all, but when you take into account how her back is arched, well it comes out awkward. Really awkward.

The end result is this which looks rather uncomfortable to say the very least.

Her wings look way cool, sharp and jagged. Crystalline I believe is what they were going for, or perhaps energy? Regardless of what the substance is supposed to be it looks great.

One of her two wings fit snugly into her back, but only one of them. The other one you have to force in so hard I was scared I’d break her. Once they go in, they probably aren’t coming back out.

The pack on her back says Kululu Labs. Which made me chuckle. There’s some smaller print underneath it but honestly it’s too small for me to make out what it says.

Her base is really white. Just a circle. It does have her name and what I presume to be the kanji for it. As well as the title of the figure Summer Angel 723. There’s a white whirl of wind underneath her feet. It’s covered in a frosted paint which looks amazing.

Overall I think she looks pretty good. I think the pose is a tad off however. Her paint is nice.

Paint: 9/10

Sculpt: 8/10

Pose: 7/10

Base: 6/10

Overall: 7/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Natsumi Hinata, Summer Angel, Megahouse

  1. El says:

    I just bought this figure about a week ago myself! Natsumi is my favourite character too, alongside Giroro. I just wanted to say thanks, because I bought the figure off ebay, but the reason I decided to buy her was because of your awesome write up and the pics! It showed me that this was definitely the Natsumi I wanted to hang out on my shelf with my collection.

    (Although personally I love her pose. I find that whenever I swim I like, and take advantage of, my freedom to defy gravity so I find her extreme stretch adorable on a personal level.)

    But man, I did have the issues with the wing. I had to dig up a craft blade and shave a bit of the plastic off the peg so it would fit nicely.

Leave a Reply

