Gon Freecs Banpresto

Character: Gon Freecs

Series: Hunter X Hunter

Manufacturer: Banpresto

Release Date: June 2012

I have been waiting for years for decent run of Hunter X Hunter statues. It took way too long, but Banpresto finally heard the call. It took a whole new anime to qualify this heroic quartet for a set of prize figures, however the wait was worth it.

The energetic puffball, Gon Freecs was among the first two figures released. At first glance I was a bit put off by his proportions. I can’t decide if his shorts are too short, or his legs are too long, but there is definitely something wrong here. Maybe his torso is just too short. Huh.

Gon’s spiky black hair is tipped with light green shading. This was a pretty cool way to make his hair colour look as if it is actually a dark green, as opposed to flat black. Behind the first row of spikes runs a rather unsightly seam line. You can see it the most in between the points. The area where his bangs meet his forehead is also quite sloppy. Gon’s face is cute, and childlike. His expression makes him appear very excited. The decals applied for his facial features are applied smoothly, right where they should be. You can also see here that each arm bares an awful seam line as well.

Overall Gon’s hair looks pretty good, but he has another bad seam behind his ears. His entire posture appears perky. From the way his shoulders are raised, and slightly back, to the expression on his face. I would bet Gon just saw his friends headed his way.

His jacket is just wrinkled enough to show wear. There could definitely have been more detail around his shoulder blades, given his pose. The sleeves are accented with orange trim. The stripes at his wrists are a bit sloppy, but most certainly not the worst I’ve seen. The orange trim along the jacket’s opening is painted much clearer.

His shorts are just that, short. His tiny shorts make his legs look really long, or vise versa. The shorts have significantly more wrinkles in them, normally this would be a good thing, however in this case it just discerns how much the garment does not fit him….

Gon’s boots are fairly interesting. They have no laces, or zippers, so this brings out the question: How does he put them on? Hell if I know, but they look pretty cool. The green stripes up the front of them are painted precisely. The soles of the boots, not so much.

I do like the bottom of his boots though, it is always nice when their feet don’t sit completely flat on the base.

His base is a transparent, orange rectangle with the show title etched into it. This is simple, and serves its purpose. If I have any complaints about the base, they would be about the size. I feel it is needlessly wide, just to throw a title on there.

Gon’s box is very plain. It has no windows at all, just a lot of images of the figure, including a shot of the whole set on the back. Inside the figure is wrapped in cellophane, but has no plastic casing for protection.

Pros:

A nice sized Gon figure.

Not a bad price.

Cons:

Strange proportions.

Sloppy paint.

Weak packaging.

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gon Freecs Banpresto

  1. Rei says:

    Awesome review! I really love the comments and question you raise. I’m getting Gon as well in a few days time and I really can’t wait and this review made me even more excited!

    Is it just me or is his face a little too glossy? And ah, about the proportion, I do think it looks pretty good if compared to the original illustration of Gon: [ http://moe.animecharactersdatabase.com/uploads/chars/1-1686006619.gif ] But yes, I agree the proportion still does look sort of weird (the illustration looks more natural), I just don’t know which part. Other than that, I think he looks pretty decent!

  2. Rei says:

    Ah, I saw your previous reply. It ended up in my inbox sent through your mail. I heard they were sold out pretty fast there, yes. I’ve also already stumbled upon toyslogic before, deciding if I should pre-order them or not, but I had to pass because I’ve already got tons of other orders that I made which is making my wallet cry. I really do appreciate your help and offer though! I don’t think I’ll be able to get them, so I’ll wait for your reviews on them in the future! (:

    • Topiki says:

      That kind of stinks but I am very familiar with crying wallets. My wallet is pretty angry at me right now. It’ll get over it. I will keep my eyes open for them to pop up cheaper. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

