Ruri Gokou, Wave 1/8

After the mild disappointment that was Kotobukiya’s Memories Version Ruri I decided to strike out and try again. This time I gave a nod in the direction of Wave. They’ve never let me down before, so here’s hoping this will be the Ruri to win my heart.

Ruri Gokou is the best friend of Kirino’s from the otaku side of the fence. They have a tendency to have very  heated  arguements over what’s better melodramatic teen angst anime or cute fluffy magical girl shows. Ruri is naturally on the side of teen angst.

Alright let’s start this! As is the norm with figures of Ruri her hair is perfectly flat on top, there is of course no raised hair around the headband that she’s wearing. It is perfectly unnaturally level with her hair.Her face though is adorable. A light blush spreads across her cheeks,  and a small smile graces her lips, I’d bet anything she just got a compliment on those cat ears.

Her shirt is cute I like the buttons trailing down her chest, and the way they don’t line up perfectly straight because of the wrinkles in said shirt.The ribbon holding the collar closed is a seperately sculpted piece which is always a nice touch, however because of this the black on the collar has a gloss finish whereas the ribbon piece itself does not. Strange….

Her skirt conforms nicely to the shape of her body, the wrinkles over by her hip is a very nice touch. It dips down between her legs in a manner that is very realstic. One leg is folded under her, her other leg is stretched out to the side. One strange thing about her legs though, down at her feet there’s no toe definition in her socks, not as odd as the headband, but still odd.

Her right hand is raised to play with her cat ears. Her fingers are nice they are seperatley sculpted. Her fingernails have a nice bit of paint on them. I also like the sculpt of her knuckles.

Her hips are huge, it looks nice though. Her back has a very nice curve to it,  I really like the way it goes down to her butt. It looks very natural. I also love her tail, it’s curved upward in a cute manner.

Her feet are flat. 😦

The top of the back of her head lacks incredibly in detail. The headband as previously stated just sits in her hair, perfectly indented. I really wish they would have done that better.

Her hair at the bottom has a lot more detail  to it. It looks really good too.

I like the way her hair frames her face, it’s super cute.

Her fingers are splayed nicely and naturally. Her fingers don’t quite rest on the ground though which is a bummer. Her skirt is bunched up underneath her which is pretty cool too.

Her base is a large clear square that features the name of the the show.

The front of her box states the character name and the version that the figure is. It also has a very large picture window through which you can see the entirety of the figure.

The side of the box features the figure itself, and the back of the box shows her displayed with the Kirino counterpart. Overall fairly standard.

Overall I think she’s a much nicer figure then the Memories ver. brought to us by Kotobukiya. The pose makes more sense, her face is way cuter, a better product overall.

Pose: 9/10

Sculpt: 8/10

Paint: 9/10

Base: 7/10

Overall: 8/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ruri Gokou, Wave 1/8

  1. colonelfancy says:

    Two things: Ruri’s uncertainty about her costume and pose reads well in her face. I think that’s a nice touch and an improvement over her last face, where she looked like she ate some bad cabbage. And two, she’s another character who rocks the goth look reasonably well. A+ review.

Leave a Reply

