Ritsu Tainaka and Mio Akiyama, Romeo and Juliet Version

Verily I must say I found the cutest young maidens whilst on the look out for the Romeo and Cinderella Miku Hatsune. Ritsu and Mio who hailed from the anime title K-on! They were positively precious and I knew that I needed them.

Ritsu is the self proclaimed president of the light music club, she’s also kind of evil. Which is probably why I love her. She has no qualms with teasing and tormenting her friends, especially Mio Akiyama. She is a fun lively character that you really can’t help but get behind.

We’ll start with Juliet here. Her face is adorable, I get the distinct impression that she’s in the process of teasing poor Romeo. The style of her hair is great for odeki fans, and gives off the full impression of her facial expression. Her one open eye is alight with life and energy. Her necklace is well painted the gold and the green don’t cross into eachothers territorty at all. Also I think green was a good color choice for the gem on the necklace, it stands out quite nice against the red that is her dress.

Ritsu’s chest shows just a hint of that misplaced glue that prize figures are so well known for, but you have to actually be looking for flaws to even notice it. Her dress is in European fashion so it doesn’t get tight around the waist and instead falls loosely around her body. This has it’s ups and it’s downs. The ups include that it arguably isn’t a fan servicy figure and it’s got a fair bit of historical accuracy, the downs however…well it makes her look chubby. One hand rsts comfortably on her hip, I think this hand would be better as a fist, I’m not entirely sure why her fingers are curled that way. The other hand is holding up the edge of her dress, her hand holds it nice and tight which is great.

I love the bottom of her dress it’s got great creases from the way she’s holding up the edge of it. I think it looks pretty good and pretty accurate too!

Her red shoes are really simple, they have a slight heel and ar slip ons. Oh and her ankles  have just a hint of definition to them. 

Since Titsu has short hair and is clearly wearing an extension for this endevor, she has hair clips in her hair holding the shorter strands back. That is an adorable added detail. Her hat is pretty simple, it’s cute but doesn’t really stand out too much. As much as I love the hair clips, I’m not a fan of the extension, it has zero definition to it so it just looks like a hunk of plastic stuck to the back of her head.

I like the way her sleeves poof out, but a little bit more detail at the to of the shoulder would have been nice. Aside from that though her sleeves look great.

The cape is another nice touch to make a kind of bland design a little more lively. I like the fact that it doesn’t fall staright down there are indeed curves in the plastic.

I think her hat looks like a giant melon bread…. It looks tasty…

This really is the weakest point on this figure. The ribbons don’t look they’re holding her hair at all. It should be tighter, and again more detail on the hair itself would be stellar. The bottom of her hair has a little detail, but not really enough to redeem this piece.

The cape really does look great from the back, it’s got some great movement to it.

The bottom of the cape shows a bit of movement to it as well. Overall it looks pretty good.

She’s lacking rather significantly in the knuckle department and has a smidge of orange paint on her hand.

The way she’s holding her dress really shines the most from a side angle where you can see the full extent of folds a wrinkles in the fabric.

Her base however is a monster, it’s huge. Cute but huge. THe teacup is as always a great touch.

Ro-Mio Ro-Mio where for art though Ro-Mio!

Ritsu’s friend and fellow figure Mio Akiyama is a scaredy cat and thus truly ridiculous choice for Romeo, which is half of what makes this set so cute. She is the bassist for the light music club, and is scared to death of being the center of attention.

I’m not sure Romeo ever actually looked that terrified…Mio though she pulls off abject horror like no one else. That fear reaches her eyes and her mouth is slightly agape. Her hair frames her face rather nicely.

Her poofy sleeves have just a little misplaced yellow paint. Otherwise the stripes in this area look immaculate. Also her sword fits into it’s slot really well. The brown strap it hooks to is blue up top though.

Her legs are clad in simple white tights. Around her knees there is just a hint of very light blue shading.

She kind of looks like she’s shuffling her feet as she’s shying back. Her boots go almost all the way up to her knees. The paint is nice. I like the gloss on her boots.

Her hair is swept up, however like Ritsu’s there isn’t a whole lot of detail to it, so it does look a little awkward in back. Her hands are clenched into adorable little fists in front of her. Mio probably shouldn’t try crossdressing again though her figures a tad too feminine to pull it off right.

Like the sword the dagger at her hip fits nice and snug, no real danger of it falling out. the front of her shirt hangs just a little bit over the belt. A little bit of the silver from the belt buckle is on the brown of the belt. Also the bottom of the shirt wrinkles just a little and is pretty cute. The lines are sharp and clear.

I love her neck line. Swept up hair almost always has that effect on me. The lines look great, and I love the way her shoulders are positioned, I think it’s cute.

The place where the two belt strfaps hookk together is pretty horrid. Other then that though I really like the way the back of the figure looks.

Nothing really to extraordinary about the boxes, no windows to view the figure, just standard pictures of the figure.

Overall I think the girls look pretty good. They are super cute and well worth their price point!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ritsu Tainaka and Mio Akiyama, Romeo and Juliet Version

  1. cb27ded says:

    Those are really cute. I really do like how embarrassed Mio looks.

  2. Pingback: Azusa Nakano and Yui Hirasawa- Banpresto | Somewhere In The Midst of Nowhere

Leave a Reply

