TF-14A Fei Yen, Hatsune Miku, Bandai

Every now and again people conspire against me, just not necessarily in a bad way. This time my lifemate went to my sister to find a piece of merch that I really wanted but hadn’t gotten my mitts on yet. So when an unexpected package arrived on my doorstep I was very excited. What could it possibly be? My answer: TF-14A Fei Yen. Lord was I happy.

Her Miku Hatsune face is beyond adorable. Her mouth is open in a happy smile, singing perhaps? And her eyes are positively alive. A visor covers the top part of her bangs, which is a little different from your standard Miku, it’s cute and a nice touch.

Her outfit is grey with, which is another step away from standard Miku (who is usually wearing silver), and her outfit is lined with teal, it’s very shiny too which makes for a nice touch on both a robot and a popstar.  She does have most of the standard Miku detailing though, the tie, the little triangles around the collar and shoulders. There’s also a little gold rectangle over her right breast. On a less standard note there are also teal lines under her breasts and across her belly. I like that quite a bit, and the paint job on it is perfect.

Her metal tutu is pretty cool. The sections on it kind of look like vents. Each one is jointed to provide just a little movement, for the purpose of making her hips move easier. Sadly her triangle patterned belt is only one color instead of the normal black and blue.

If we qualify this as a zettai ryouiki figure, it is without a doubt the strangest one I’ll probably review for quite some time, but I think they might actually be boots so we’re a little safe there. Her boots are black thigh highs. Like her top she has teal lines decorating the boots all over….kind of makes me think of Tron honestly. The decoration is nice though and draws alot of attention to her legs.

Her ankles have small triangles jutting out from the sides, which honestly I don’t really get, but it looks cool so I guess it’s ok. And the decorative lines that litter his figure go all the way down to the tips of her boots. Her ankles have a ball joint which provides great mobility there.

Her hair is also on a ball joint, it moves very easily and stays in place fairly well. Her pigtails holders are the standard black with a single pink stripe that Miku fans are so familiar with. Her headset shows a nice bit of detail with the yellow and red on it. Just plain black is way too boring and happens far too frequently for my liking. One more kind of cool bit is the originality of the way the number 01 was done on her arm, the black box surrounding it makes it stand out. There’s no way you could miss noticing it. Her shoulders and elbows also have standard ball joints for easier posability.

Miku’s unattached sleeves are a little more high tech looking then normal too, they have the usual LCD screens of course, but like her ankles, her elbows also have those strange triangles on them. The sleeves are also more boxy then normal which gives it a kind of sci fi appeal.

Her knee joints however kind of make me want to shoot myself. The only saving grace is that they ARE double jointed. The major failure though, straight joints. That which action figure collectors fear more than anything. Sp her knees move, but the posing is extremely limited because of this. The joints here also feel weaker, I’d recommend exercising extreme caution when handling her.

The back of her head has a hole in it where you can insert the base piece for various pose options.

She also has a hole on her lower back for standing poses. Her back has a cd player attached to it, it even has a little tiny cd inside of it.

To top it off the cd player actually opens.

And the cd is actually removable. Now how cool is that?

The grey flaps at the back of her outfit are also joint for the purpose of posing. Because of the flexibility of this joint Fei Yen Miku can actually sit. I know it’s shocking. However like her knee joints this feels incredibly delicate and you probably should avoid putting too much stress on it.

She’s got some neat accessories, including graspy hands, and clear leeks. It ‘s kind of like the glo stick ones people tend to have at her concerts.

She comes with a peace sign hand and an open hand for waving perhaps? That honestly looks kind of sharp. I don’t think I want those claws anywhere near me.

And fists, so she can do you cute little dance moves like this one.

And…. are those trigger fingers….well it’s probably best not to ask too many questions….

Even her twin tails are fairly mechanical this go round. The show various spot where the metal hair pieces were clearly connected together, not like seam lines on the plastic, more like seams connecting metal pieces of hair together. That is WAY cool.

She also comes with two sets of tails. Set one which looks more windswept and set two which is less dynamic.

The back of her hair is amazing. My guess is the paneling here is meant to be lights that are made out of a clear green material. They look really cool though and are a very neat very unique touch.

Then there’s the Fei yen face which is way cool because it’s completely and utterly different. Her eyes are covered by the very same visor that rested on Miku’s forehead. Her nose is represented by a simple black line and she has no mouth to speak of. Pretty original for a virtual idol I must admit.

Yeah she looks pretty damn cool.

She also comes with the ‘Heart of Diva’  which is a clear plastic heart that has pink plastic wrapped around it in an almost magical manner.

To keep this super cute accessory from collapsing in on itself the clear piece, where the base connects, solidly holds everything perfectly in place.

Of course a straight base piece would have been to boring so instead we get a twirled clear piece to hook it to.

The base itself has three different holes in it so you can do various combinations of figure, heart, and leeks. Yes the leeks do indeed have their own base piece.

Her base in of itself is of course a pain in the neck. She falls off of it really easy. And the connector piece slides down at the slightest weight.

The box features art of both Fei Yen and Miku which in and of itself is an awesome bonus. The large picture window also does a great job of showcasing the figure in all her glory.

The back of the box shows various poses and available options. Included in this is the pose for the Tony Taka statue. That totally brought a smile to my face.

All in all she’s a phenomenally cute figure and a great addition to any Miku or action figure collection. Especially if you’re in the market for something unique.

Sculpt: 9/10

Posability: 7/10

Paint: 10/10

Base: 5/10

Overall Enjoyment: 8/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

