Roronoa Zoro, Ichiban Kuji

Back when I first started reading One Piece, I thought Roronoa Zoro was the definition of the word cool. Honestly not much has changed since then. No I don’t really read One Piece anymore, but Zoro, yeah man he’s still cool. So when I saw a figure of him up for preorder where he was looking pretty freaking awesome I decided I had to have it. So here he is the bounty hunter Roronoa Zoro in all his plastic glory!

Roronoa Zoro is a bounty hunter turned pirate, he was the first sap to join up with Luffy in the Straw Hat Pirates. Zoro is intent on becoming the world’s best swordsman in honor of a childhood friend who passed away. He’s also a complete blundering idiot. I mean really who else would try to cut off their own feet? No I don’t care what the circumstances where.

Zoro has a great head of mossy green hair. They got the color just about perfect in my opinion, it could have been a little more bright I guess but this does look good. I love a good odeki character, they are getting extremely rare nowadays. Zoro has a rather stern serious look on his face, his eyebrows are arched down and his mouth is set in firm frown. Zoro’s eyes are lacking alot in detail, black line, white, black circle, black line. End. No eye color. Period. His earrings are also lacking alot, it honestly looks like one giant gold earring instead of three dangling ones. His tie is undone, as are the top couple buttons of his shirt. He has a great neck, there are defined muscles there and they do a great job of trailing down to his chest.

Zoro’s tie is tucked nice and neat into his vest, the buttons are nice and neat and actually look a little strained. His waist is thin, which shows off his figure nicely. His hands on the other hand are huge and look horribly out of proportion.

Zoro’s three swords are of course on his person. Two still sheathed, on drawn and ready to fight. The paint job on the sheaths is very good. The painted details are right where they are supposed to be and it looks pretty accurate. Zoro’s pants are painted with a glossy finish which adds a nice shine to his legs. Like virtually every other male figure I’ve ever reviewed his pants are impossibly tight. Doesn’t even look comfy.

His shoes are very simple black dress shoes.

The back of Zoro’s hair shows some fine detail. Little locks of short marimo hair spike up just a little up top. It’s kind of cool the way it looks.

His shoulder blades can be seen tensed up in the vest and there’s a line of creases leading downward in the direction that they’re leaning. His copyright information is at the bottom of his vest.

The un is well painted, the gold and silver don’t cross eachother. The details are really great, I love the wood design on it. It looks great.

The trio of barrels has a horrendous seam line on it, but other then that looks pretty good.

All in all he’s a pretty good figure. Not as great as a P.O.P. figure but he’s still pretty nice.

Pose: 8/10

Paint: 9/10

Sculpt: 7/10

Base: 7/10

Overall Score: 7/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roronoa Zoro, Ichiban Kuji

  1. colonelfancy says:

    If he’s as big as he looks (about 1/8th scale) it overall looks really cool. Zoro looks pretty boss when tucked in as well. The seam lines do stick out, I can only imagine them in person.

Leave a Reply

