Sabakuno Army San! Magical Marine Pixel Maritan, Nendoroid 196, Hobby Japan Exclusive

 


Somethings you don’t even know exist until the exact moment that you decide you need it. Thus was the case with little Army-San. She was already out and available when I decided that I needed her. So for a special Fourth of July edition of Somewhere in the Midst of Nowhere I bring America’s military rookie Army-San!

 

Army san is a dog human hybrid, a real dog of the military even (ducks tomatoes), she is also an easily abusable idiot. For some reason, that escapes me personally, even though she is a member of the marines, she cosplays in blatant camouflage. She was also round house kicked out of existence by Chuck Norris.

I suppose the best place to start is with her hat, they went with the less common shades of grey camo. It covers the entirety of her bangs and you can’t see her angry eyebrows with the hat on. Her hair frames her face nicely. One thing that I don’t like even though I know the reason (so you can exchange faces with other nendos) she has both human and dog ears. That seems a bit silly and rather redundant.

I actually really like her without the hat, the dog ears seem more prominent that way.

She has a bandage on the side of her head. It’s huge too, maybe that’s where Chuck Norris kicked her….Err…. I mean its another really cute detail you lose by having her hat on her. As with every other nendo I hate the seam line on her hair but there really is nothing to be done about it since you have to be able to switch the faces.

Army San’s clothes are pretty awesome. The camo shirt goes down to her hips, it’s overall a really long tank top. Her suspenders hold up belt nicely, the pouches on it are evenly spaced. They all have a little black buckle on them. Her gloves are the same brown as her hair and totally fingerless. Her collar has no detail to it really. There’s a very generic silver buckle. Also for being just silver paint on this dog tag is horrible. There are upraised parts all over it.  

Her shorts are simple little things. Just short black shorts. Not real detail to speak of. Her little brown shoes have little brown shoelaces that are…the exact same color her shoes! They do have little black soles which is a nice touch.

If you want to raise her arms they fit horribly. I mean horribly. There are huge gaps. And I do mean huge. It look like some sort of serious physical defect. The back pouch doesn’t have a buckle of any kind.

Her tail is an adorable little nub. It has a peg so that you can swivel it up or down. I really really like her tail it might be my favorite part of this figure. Her base however is a flaming pile. The first time you stick her to it she fits great perfectly snug. The second time she’s still doing pretty good. After that she’ll never stand properly on her base again. By the end of me taking review pictures she already doesn’t work with her base anymore. FAIL!

The magazines under the band on her hat look suspiciously like orange bubblegum. Like with the dog tag the paint on  the magazine on the left is uneven and bubbly. 😦

She comes with a drooling face, which I believe is the ‘I’m high as a kite right now’ face….no I’m not joking. I do like the giant vapid eyes though. There’s also a cute little spot of drool at the corner of her mouth. She comes with two guns neither of which she can pose with in a manner even remotely close to looking like she’s firing it.  The details on the guns look fine though. There isn’t any really blotchy paint or anything. And quite a bit of detailing too.

This I do love! An angry face/ grenade combo. That is way too awesome. The grenade is stuck in her hand. It cannot be removed…but….

She does come with a grenade that isn’t attached to a hand. That’s just beautiful.

Now if you were as stupid as me…she does come with a second really cool accessory. A jeep. Oh yes a nendo jeep. It has headlights, windshield wipers, and a better paint job then the nendo itself.

Strangely enough all the detailing on the doors with the exception of the windows are the exact same color as the jeep. How awkward.The tires are rubber and do really turn. That has to count for something right?

The back of the jeep has clear lines for a trunk. It has tail lights and turn signals too!

Her horrible hate filled base does fit into the jeep, so if it’s your first time posing her she can stand in the jeep rather nicely.

She also comes with arms for holding the steering wheel. They just don’t hold it well. To get her to hold it properly I think you’d have to detach the steering wheel and put it in her hand and then put her and the wheel in the car. Given the steering wheel does not unattach this is not in any way possible.

All in all I am not impressed with this toy…but let’s see how she does with the other nendos….

Well she can protect her home from a cat faced Miku….

Her helmet fits great on Rin, and I did enjoy giving the jeep a flat tire. Overall though I think I’d be ok with letting Chuck Norris kick her out existence…

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

