Origami Cyclone Goodies!

Name: Origami Cyclone/ Ivan Karelin

Series: Tiger & Bunny

Manufacturer & Release Date:

Deformeister Petit- Bandai October 2012

Towel & Mascot- Banpresto May 2012

As a pretty big fan of Origami Cyclone, I have been collecting his products. I guess that means he is doing his job well. Here are the fun things I have found so far.

This little guy right here is the very first piece of Tiger & Bunny merchandise that I fell in love with. I had never watched the show. I just saw him on Ebay, and thought “Wow that’s funny. I need it.” The moment passed, I forgot about the demented looking ninja chibi, and moved on. Then I watched Tiger & Bunny. Suddenly that little ninja became very important. He looks pretty goofy, his head is huge and honestly I am surprised he can stand on his own. He is missing a lot of details, like most of his sponsor names.

The giant shuriken on his back fits into its socket pretty well, and does have the .anime logo on it. I guess that is a step in the right direction.

The paint on him is all over the place. There is gold where it should be red, and red where it should be blue. It’s almost like they didn’t even try to paint it well.

His base has the logo for Helperidese on it, which is one of his sponsors. This is a pretty cute touch. He is held up by the clear plastic piece that fits around his foot.

Pros:

Fun pose!

Great character!

Cons:

Really bad paint job.

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

I think Origami Cyclone may have just been made for awesome merchandise. The second Origami product I fell in love with was the Ichiban Kuji towel. The entire image is his face spread across the width of a hand towel.

Each end of the towel has a tiny embellishment. The left side has a tiny Origami Cyclone silhouette.

The right side has a small bit of kanji. I regret that I have no clue what it says. Any ideas? The towel is not Japanese style, but instead made of fluffy terry cloth like material. I think Origami would be disappointed that his towel wasn’t Japanese styled.

Pros:

Great picture.

Creative idea.

Super soft towel.

Cons:

Would’ve made an awesome bath towel.

Overall Enjoyment: 10/10

Now for the man beneath the mask. Along with the towel, I also received the Ichiban Kuji Chara-Accent of Ivan Karelin, the young Russian man under the costume.

I was actually a bit impressed with this one. He is really tiny, and a bit funny looking, but this little key chain has twice the detail that the Deformeisters from Bandai display. His face looks good, and the two volcano patches are clearly visible on the front panel of his jacket. The attached white square has the Helperidese logo on it.

The back of this one looks just as good as the front. The Japanese woman that adorns the back of his jacket is present, and looking pretty good. Especially for being so small. Not bad Banpresto!

Pros:

Cute Mascot.

Great attention to detail.

Cons:

Pose is kind of boring…

Overall Enjoyment: 8/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Goodies, Trading Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Origami Cyclone Goodies!

  1. colonelfancy says:

    I want to see this guy take on Sasuke Sarutobi circa Sengoku Basara. The towel would make a great headband

Leave a Reply

