Syo Kurusu Dream Cushion Cover, and Bed Sheet!

Name: Syo Kurusu

Series: Uta No Prince

manufacturers: Broccoli (Bed Sheet) Kotobukiya (Dream Cushion)

Release Dates: March 2012 (Bed Sheet) May 2012 (Dream Cushion)

Sometimes you see that thing, that you know you want. You aren’t sure how, or where to get it, but you know that it has to be yours. Well here I bring to you, two items that struck my fancy. As a collector of beautiful things I find it very hard to pass up Syo Kurusu merchandise. These were clearly no exception.

The first is Broccoli’s bed sheet. The sheet itself is made of a very silky polyester suede. It is quite smooth, and amazingly soft. The picture is printed clearly on one side. There appear to be no flaws on he image.

Syo is ready to snuggle in his cute, striped pajamas. I must say as adorable as this is, it kind of goes against his flashy style of everyday fashion. His face looks nice, and his smile is welcoming. I think it is kind of cute that he is still wearing his nail polish. This also looks strange with the stripes. Where as this isn’t an overly sexy picture, there is just enough fanservice to keep ogling eyes on him. He is roughly 5′ tall so this picture is almost life size!

This single sheet is really thin. You can even see the picture on the reverse side. He looks really weird flipped!

Overall I am glad that I didn’t hesitate, and jumped at this piece while he was still available! Syo is my first anime bed sheet, and I simply adore it!

Kotobukiya’s Syo Dream Cushion Cover was a special treat! He was exclusive to Koto’s Japanese store. So I contacted JSAS to pre-order it for me. A couple months later, he was mine.

Each cushion cover has an image featured on either side. One side depicts the boy awake, and welcoming you. The second shows him fast asleep. The only two titles that have gotten Dream Cushions so far are Uta no Prince, and Durarara. This style of pillow is vaguely “L” shaped so the user can place their head on the arm of it, while wrapping their arms around the body. Nice! These are also made out of polyester, and feel very silky. The pictures are printed on each side respectfully. There is a zipper along the top of the cushion cover to insert the actual body of the pillow. These are sold separately, and since I have ability to sew I decided to pass on the extra $40 insert. At the moment he is full of towels…

The awake picture is a pretty average depiction of Syo. It’s cute, and we get him in his school uniform which is kind of hot, but it could be a bit more lively. Once again he is inviting us to join him. I’m in!

The sleeping side is what instantaneously won me over. This side is cute, colourful, huggable, and sexy. I think honestly the most appealing thing about it is the subtle fanservice. We get to see Syo without his hat, or hairclips. I think this may be a first for me. We also get a tiny peek at his belly.

The bed sheet comes wrapped in a cellophane bag, with a tiny image of the overall product in the bottom corner. The cushion cover gets a really cool, hot pink box! The front shows Syo’s face. 

The back has a picture of each image featured on the cushion cover. There is even a tiny hole cut into the box so you can feel the fabric. This is kind of silly since the actual cover is wrapped in plastic….

Pros:

Sexy boys are awesome!

Sexy boys to snuggle are more awesome!

Quality images!

Quality fabric!

Great items to mix up a collection a bit!

Cons:

They are probably pretty easy to get dirty.

The $40 cushion insert …

Overall Enjoyment: 10/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime, Anime Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Syo Kurusu Dream Cushion Cover, and Bed Sheet!

  1. Michelle says:

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing~

    I have a question. I’m not sure if you mentioned this in other posts, but how does preordering through JSAS work? Also, who are they/where is their website or whatever, and how could I potentially do the same? xD;

    There are some Fate/Zero dream cushions that will be released in February, and I’m thinking I want a character pillow too…

    • Topiki says:

      JSAS is Japan Shopping Assistance Service. It is one single person who serves as a proxy. I highly recommend him. I have been using his service for over two years for everything from exclusives to Ichiban Kuji drawing. You can view his website here.
      http://my-japan-life.blogspot.com/
      If you need any other info feel free to ask! 😀 Hope this helps. The dream cushions are awesome.

      • Michelle says:

        Oh, thank you! If I think of any other questions I will be sure to contact you.

      • Michelle says:

        Hi again. So I went to the guy you suggested and got myself the Gilgamesh Dream Cushion, which arrived in the mail today. Thank you again for the information! Was a very pleasant, easy transaction. This cover is awesome. ❤
        This might be a weird question, but did your cover come with any sort of washing instructions? I feel like I should know for future reference. My lack of knowledge of the Japanese language is a little troublesome, lol. I ended up getting the pillow insert as well and saved the sticker on the packaging…maybe if I squint at it long enough I'll figure out if it says anything useful.

Leave a Reply

