Bardo Kotobukiya

 

I just got my hands on my first figure of Kotetsu from Tiger and Bunny. As I stared at him I thought, he looks alright, but I should go review a ‘real’ Wild Tiger. So here we have him Lamento Beyond the Void’s very own Bardo.

Bardo is the tiger of Lamento Beyond the Void. He has a somewhat goofy personality in the Anthology manga and can’t really be taken to seriously. He’s one hell of an awesome fighter though. One of the two best swordsmen in the world. He also owns and runs the inn in Ransen village.

Bardo’s hair falls partially in front of his face obscuring one eye from view. A smile graces his lips as he prepares to fight. His eyes are a little unusual, they are painted gold. It’s hard to get a good shot of it but his goatee actually continues under his chin.

Bardo is wearing a tunic which is always good for us fangirls because it shows off a fair bit of fanservicy chest. Fortunatley for us he isn’t one of those pale scrawny guys either. His shirt positively shimmers and the black and red looks great with the his tan.

His belt holds his tunic tightly closed. Then he has a second  belt, this one being the sword belt. It’s grey and actually is wrapped in on itself.  His gloves are fingerless so as not to impede his movement. Whereas it isn’t actually connected to the belt any longer there is a loop where it would connect.

I think the way the bottom of his tunic falls is a bit unnatural. It should be slightly open.

His pants actually look like they fit him, not to short or to tight. They also have the same red and black theme as his tunic so it looks quite good together. His shoes are a simple black.

His hair has great layers. It’s long and layered too which is fairly rare. Most sculptors of long-haired figures don’t really bother to define the figures tresses like this. His ears are yellow with a little bit of black stripes added in for a tiger stripe effect.

There are some very nice creases around his elbow, and the ones around his stomach stand out quite well from the side.

Bardo has amazing hands, there are small lines of shading between each finger to help them stand out more, but the truly great part is his nails. Sharp and pointed, like a cat’s claws, very cool. His knuckles are clearly defined as well as each and every joint in his fingers. The scabbard that he’s holding is rough, it feels worn, like it’s seen a lot of use.

His hair looks just as good from the back, nice and uneven.

The back of his tunic shows nice wrinkles. It also has clear lines where it would have been sewn together.

His tail is splendid, it’s textured too. I love the stripes on his tail they aren’t even at all which makes them look perfectly natural.

His base is textured to be grass, and has simple flat points on it for his feet and one knee. His base also combines with the other three figures from the set for other displaying options.

The design on the sword really makes me think of a classic fantasy long sword. Very good choice for a cat boy.

So there you have it, Wild Tiger Bardo!

Pose:  9/10

Paint: 10/10

Sculpt: 9/10

Base: 8/10

Overall Enjoyment: 9/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

