Yu Narukami Figuarts Zero

Every now and again, Japan surprises me. I had honestly presumed that with the limited figures of the men from Persona 3, the 4 boys were never going to get any love. But lo and behold Bandai gave us a Figuart of Narukami Yu as their opening bid in a whole line of Persona 4 figures. They are limited exclusive items, but actually still fairly easy to find! I’ve heard that Figuarts are really hit or miss as to wether or not you’ll actually get a good one, but this time it seems I got a lucky draw!

 Narukami Yu is your perfect straight man. He’s quiet polite, and slightly aloof. He has a very dry sense of humor which is often extremely questionable. He is also a young man who will go to any lengths for his friends. Souji Seta is a distant but friendly loner who’s a bit of a pessimist. Shujinkou is…whatever you desire him to be. So what do Yu, Seta, and Shujinkou have in common? They are all names of the Figuart I’m reviewing today. 

Swoopy bangs fall into his eyes as he glares defiantly. His mouth is set in a frown. This figure is angry and someone is going to catch hell for it. His jacket collar looks great and has the school symbol on the collar. The pattern on it looks perfect!

His shirt is done quite well it’s got some really nice wrinkles on it, the gray buttons on it are painted nicely…strange thing though where as it looks like his shirt is unbuttoned at the top there is in fact no top button. Maybe it popped off? The stitches on the jacket are perfect! Not a line out-of-place.

His shirt is untucked and from underneath it you can just barely make out a silver belt buckle.

His pants have wrinkles around the knees and ankles. The also have the same stitch marks that the jacket does. They go along both the outer and the inner part of the leg.

His shoes are way awesome! I love dress shoes and his are really cool, the stitches on them actually stick out. The brown soles stand out against the black of the shoes and the yellow of the base. 

Unlike his collar, his sleeve cuffs have buttons. His hand has clear definition to it, his fingers have clear joints and fingernails. The flame leaping from his hand is made from a clear blue plastic, and you can see the bottom of the Fool tarot card that he has summoned forth.

His jacket blows back behind him as he summons.  It looks good but as always I wish imaginary wind affected more than just jackets….

His hair is kind of….uhh….blobbish. It’s got detail, but it really looks kinda like they could have tried harder. His shoulders are broad. The seams on the back of his jacket look great.

Underneath his jacket you can see his white shirt. I really like the fact that you can see it from the back.

The bottom of his pants bunch up at the bottom where they go over his shoes.

His other hand is in his pocket, and not only that but his pocket ACTUALLY bulges out where his hand is located. Strangely this arms sleeve cuff does not have buttons.

The back of the card has a familiar face on it, if anyone’s read my Persona 3 Shujinkou and Akihiko reviews, this guy is on their bases. I really like the way the flames are wrapped around the card.

Now his base has two extra holes on it. One is to place the D-Arts Izanagi figure, the other is for this…. Ridiculous isn’t it? Still though the originality is kind of charming.

Cut, copy, and pasted directly from the game, it looks kind of cool. The detailing on it is nice….but I still think it’s kind of silly….

I love this base! It’s huge which kind of sucks, but it had to be big to be able to hold the weight of both Yu and Izanagi. The body outlines littering the ground are a true Shin Megami touch.

The glasses are a great extra feature, they seem to be a staple in Persona 4 figures. They all have them, even Kotobukiya’s one coin chibis. You can clearly see his eyes through the glasses.

And then there’s this….Mr. Narukami is reading Persona magazine. First issue I believe. It even has a little bar code.

I love this! They put the actual box in a hard cardboard box for protection. I have to appreciate that, I’ve gotten so many broken boxes in the mail that something like this is sweet!

His box shows great shots of the figure all over it. There’s no window on it, but with this many pictures honestly you don’t really need it.

Pose: 9/10

Paint: 8/10

Sculpt: 8/10

Base: 9/10

Box: 9/10

Overall: 8/10

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yu Narukami Figuarts Zero

  1. LUCIFER says:

    Does the box include the persona magazine?

Leave a Reply

