Akira Damaged Version 1/8 Scale

                          

I was in my local comic shop looking through the latest Previews catalogue when I saw this totally awesome figure. The Kotobukiya shop exclusive version, right there, for simple easy ordering convenience. I was at the counter ordering him within seconds. Honestly I wasn’t too sure that he was gong to come in, but lo and behold he did, which is why I can give you this exclusive review 😉

Togainu No Chi’s Akira is a champion fighter, for that matter he was the undefeated champion of the streetfighting tournament Bl@ster. He was accused of murder, a set up of course, he was sentenced to life imprisonment. He was offered the chance to participate in another tournament, a death game this time called Igra. Silent and cold Akira now must fight for his life and his freedom.

                             Image

Akira has a lot to offer to your average fan girl, he’s beautiful, has a great body, and that whole I’m an awesome fighter thing going on too. His hair falls into his eyes which are a gorgeous shade of blue. The dark grey of his hair is nice, it’s made from a clear plastic that was given a grey dusting.

Image

I think I like him from this angle best. He’s got a serious look of distrust in his eyes. His hands have dried blood on them and I love the way it looks on his knuckles and his fingers. Between his fingers however I don’t like it, the way it goes the full length of his fingers looks really off. The low-cut of his shirt shows off a great neck. It’s got some great detail to it.

Image

 My next issue with him is in the shading around the cuts in the shirt. It makes each and every one of them look like a retardidly bad seam. And they aren’t seams at all! It just looks that way because they outlined each one with a dark grey. The seam on his shoulder is pretty bad too. It could be taken as the point where the sleeve is sewn to the shirt, but I think it stands out too much for that.

Image

The back of his hair is gloriously layered. It’s got lot of detail to it! I also like the mussiness of it. He looks like a complete mess from head to….well waist anyway. This shoulders torn to all hell and back to the point where it’s barely still even attached, but that does pose a question…shouldn’t it be slipping down his shoulder more at the spot it was torn?

Image

 I thought on the other version Akira released back in March by Kotobukiya that his ears looked too big, this one rectifies that problem by bringing them back down to size. There are small scratches of blood on his arm, it looks alright, but I think it would have looked better if there were actual cuts to go along with the blood. I’m probably just being too picky though.

Image

This shot for example, the blood is going out in so many different directions that you can’t even begin to guess what the actual cut is. The blood on the palm of his hand however I do like. It looks like he scraped his hand on the pavement rather than cut it. And that does genuinely look good.

 Image

 This however is an insult to nipples everywhere. I’ve seen more defined nipples on characters who are still wearing their shirts! Yet again the cuts in Akira’s clothes don’t understand physics, this part of his shirt should be drooping down a lot lower.

 Then there’s this incredibly oddball spot here, it’s bulging out of his shirt. Like a tumor or a roll of fat. The other side doesn’t look like that, so why does this side?

 Another thing that I don’t like is the flesh between the torn parts of his shirt, they look offputtingly pink… The muscles on his back are very well done though. He looks really tense, well I guess that’s not much of surprise really.

These little lines of blood are a lot more clear-cut then on his raised arm. At least you can gather where he was cut. His stomach muscles more than make up for the minor offences of his body. He has a great set of abs, and I love his belly button too.

Looking at it from this angle I feel like I’m reviewing an underwear model. I hate this hand. For the life of me I can’t figure out why his fingers are curled the way they are. It looks like he should be holding something though he clearly isn’t. and the thumb tucked in the pants, is that supposed to be teasing or alluring? Also where the heck did his black belt go? Ahem…I mean the detail on the top of his pants is great. I love the button, button-hole, and zipper on the fly.

His pants are really nice, almost too nice in fact. What exactly happened to this poor guys shirt that left his pants completely unaffected? No blood, no cuts, no damage at all. I think that’s kind of strange. The wrinkles on his pants up by his sexy black boxers are nice, and I definitely appreciate his pockets!

Aki has a very nice…lower back. Tense and strong. He also apparently has the tightest boxers in the world. They cling to the shape of his butt. And might I add it’s quite the round little butt.

And now for a picture lacking entirely in dignity! For something he’s sitting on, his pockets have an awesome amount of detail to them, they even have stitches! Here we go for this horrid seam line again though. I don’t know if Kotobukiya realizes this but one of the main selling points of this figure to your average girl is that he’s taking off his pants. So someone please tell me why you would put such an obvious seam line between his legs? I mean seriously!

And then there’s the positioning of his legs which throw the whole thing off even more. They look almost relaxed, not like he just got the stuffing knocked out of him. The wrinkles and folds in them are pretty good though and seem fairly natural for the way he’s posed.

His shoes are overall my favorite part of this figure. They have laces, rubber soles, and decoration on the sides.

And his shoes even have treads on the bottom!

His base looks really cool, the stone setup is pretty nice…until you do anything around it. Do not walk, move, or breathe anywhere near this figure, he does not like his base. That single foot peg there it doesn’t do much good.

The back of the base shows off that he is the 5th anniversary figure of the ES line. They did spell anniversary wrong though…

This box has two large picture windows, because as I said earlier his back is really nice.

The sides of the box feature character art.

Overall verdict he looks good, but Kotobukiya’s previous offerings were overall just plain better.

Pose: 6/10

Paint: 8/10

Sculpt: 8/10

Base: 7/10

Box: 8/10

Overall Score: 7/10

Kudos Awarded: 3 out 5. He looks good but if you can’t find him easy he probably isn’t worth the hunt.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Akira Damaged Version 1/8 Scale

  1. iced_wine says:

    ” Also where the heck did his black belt go? ” shiki snapped it off.
    loved your review~

Leave a Reply

