Miku Hatsune Figma- Live Stage Version

Name: Miku Hatsune

Series: Vocaloid Franchise

Manufacturer: Max Factory

Sculptor: Asai (APSY) Masaki

Release Date: July 2007

Lately I have really found a place in the Vocaloid fandom. For years I had thought Miku, and the twins were cute, but I never really explored what they were. Back in 2009 I ordered what would be the first of a long line of Vocaloids adorning my room. Now that I truly love them I have decided to go back and explore the Vocaloid Figmas.

First, and foremost Miku’s box is awfully boring. If I had not seen a ton of promotional images showing off this figure, I may not have been inclined to buy this based off packaging. What else does she come with? What can she do? I don’t have a clue. I can’t read kanji…

The back of the box does not help at all. There is not a single picture showing what she is capable of. Reviewing a figure from the Figma line it would be ideal to compare the posability of the figure against the images used to sell it. In this case there are none, so we shall wing it.

Miku comes with one additional face, a microphone stand, a keyboard, two leeks, an alternate deformed head, four extra sets of hands, and cardboard pieces to erect her stage.

I’ll be perfectly honest. I never bothered to assemble the stage. It looks very delicate, and time-consuming. I kind of felt like I would spend hours constructing this thing from cardboard, just so Godzilla….I mean my cat could destroy it.

Miku herself is really cute. Her detailing is decent, but not overwhelming. She has her floating black box hair decorations. as well as her tie clips, but she is missing the black design on her belt strap.

Another bit that they did a nice job with is her digital readout boxes on her detached sleeves. These are very detailed. Her headset is a little iffy. I think it just isn’t as bright as usual. Maybe that’s just me.

As for posabilty, She definately has it. She can pose with her keyboard, and even has hands that look like they could be playing it.

She can swing the microphone stand out at her side, while rocking the mic.

She can close her eyes, and sing a sweet ballad.

She can even do this, whatever this is!

Overall, for an action figure, I think she is pretty solid. Her articulation is smooth. You don’t have to force, or tug on anything. You can also position her in many pop idol poses, not to mention many other styles. There is a slight sacrifice in tiny details, but she is alot of fun!

Pros:

She has a wide array of posing options!

Her two normal faces are really cute, giving the option between serene, and excited.

Her twin tails are really light weight so they don’t pull her head down.

The microphone, and keyboard are great accessories, especially if you have other musical figmas.

Cons:

Some of the finer details were forgotten.

Her elongated head is terrifying.

The papercraft stage seems like a pain in the butt.

Overall Enjoyment: 8/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

