Washington Trip Day 2

Hello Tekizen here, bringing you the full report of day two of our trip to Washington D.C. ūüôā

The second day of our D.C. tour we only had a few short hours to be in town. Of course we were going to make the absolute most of it!

Or so I thought. We started off our day by going and buying tickets for the tour trolleys.However due to being totally mislead by the ticket lady we missed the first trolley. So I spent fifteen minutes sitting there staring at the Hard Rock Cafe.

An the¬†Ford theatre. Strange coincidance¬†all the time I spent sitting there staring at this building I didn’t know until the tour guide told me that it was the anniversary of the day Presidant Lincoln died. No wonder there was such a line huh?

Our first stop on the trolley was the Zoo….. if we could find it. Apparently though the tolley drop off point is actually about three miles from the zoo itself. Man that was a pain.

This bear, that I believe was supposed to be a panda greated us about halfway on our walk to the zoo. The paint job on it was very nice, but not exactly what I was looking for.

                 

While at the zoo I found Otter…statues…no actual otters though….

A real Indian Elephant, by the way just to throw this out there the zoom on a Droid X2 is amazing. This guy was pretty cool and overall the highlight of the trip to the zoo!

And another animal statue…catching on to a trend here? For every one animal you see, you get two animal statues of animals not featured in the zoo. I was not amused.

But we did find an agressive crazed crane! I think Professor Oak would have loved this shot!

I also managed to find….more ducks that look alarmingly like the ducks that were at the Grant Memorial (see trip day 1). I can tell this zoo is desperate for more animals, but that’s just alarming ūüėČ

The national archives had some really cool statues outside of it, a man and a woman holding a baby one on each respective side.

Interesting fact at one point in Washington houses were charged taxes based on the width of the house…there’s one that actually is so thin that your average basketball player coudn’t lie down in it. O_O Good thing short people like me exist huh?

I found the FBI headquart…I mean the J. Edgar Hoover Building. I love the FBI, it’s one of my passions to read FBI novels.

The guy in the middle there, yep you guessed it Christopher Columbus, the man on his right represents the old world, and the one on the left the new world. Pretty snazzy!

There is one place you can stay in Washington free of charge, it’s right here at the U.S. Capital police headquarters…or at least that’s what the tour guide said.

And this is the United Methodist building, the only building in the area that the government doesn’t own. They refuse to sell.

This one is a statue of Presidant¬†Garfield staring out at the place where he was stabbed. It was this injury that became infected and ultimately caused the Presidant’s untimely demise.

This statue looks out over one of the reflection pools. It’s in honor of our brave men and women who have fought in the Marines. The woman weeps over the pages of history at the names of those who have been lost to us.

Finally made it to theLincoln Memorial, the second to last stop on our trip. It was everything I thought it would be. Huge and amazing! The detailing carved out n that statue is simply stunning.

The walls of the Lincoln Memorial were engraved (I never knew that) which is a really cool touch. I think it made it feel¬† kore meaningful ūüôā

I didn’t get to go over to the Washington Monument but I did manage to snag a pretty nice shot or two of it from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial!

                   

Our last stop was the Vietnam Memorial. It was heartbreaking to walk along that wall and to actually see all of the names listed on it it. It brought tears to my eyes.

                                        

They may be lost but never forgotten.

And that’s it our two day exploration of Washington D.C. this nation’s capital. Hope you enjoyed it as much as we did!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Road Trips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

