Anime/ Manga Fandom Relationship Meme

Just the other day I was surfing around online when I found a series of questions relating to the Anime fandom. The questions compared the anime fandom to some super cliché relationships. I decided that I was going to fill it out if nothing else then for a few giggles.

The one who seduced you and screwed you and broke your heart into a million pieces and then laughed about it?

Narrowing it down to just one was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, but when it came down to it… Kuroshitsuji won this prize. I loved it, dedicated myself to it….and then I got to the curry competition and my faith wavered a bit. Then I watched the last episode and hated, and I do mean hated the end fight. I got over it though, and then I watched season 2…..Kuroshitsuji is still laughing at my broken heart.

The old flame you don’t see very often anymore, but whom you still really enjoy getting together with for a few drinks and maybe a nostalgic romp in the sheets?

Loveless, this series still makes me smile whenever I go back and rewatch a few episodes. With the lows the manga sank to though…that old flame is just that, an old flame that can never be fully rekindled.

The mysterious dark gothy one whom you used to sit up with talking until 3 A.M. at strange coffee houses and whom you were quite smitten with until you realized she was really crazy?

Neon Genesis Evangelion was my fling with the mind screw mech shows and as far as that goes at least it was the broody dark goth girl and not a clone of her. However smitten I may have been with Evangelion though I can say in all honesty that between cooking Asuka, dinner party Rei, and Mari in general, this nutso girl and I have broken up.

The one whom you spent the whole weekend in bed with and who drank up all your liquor and whom you’d still like to screw again although you are actually relieved she doesn’t live in town?

It was a beautiful weekend, I enjoyed it immensely, that is until I realized that I wasted 12 hours of my weekend rolling around in the sheets with a show that answered no questions, gave me a chump ending, and was full of people I hate. Thank you Japan for this one Mawaru Penguindrum. Would I do it again? Probably, am I glad she lives in Japan though? Most definitely.

The Steady?

Shaman King. Oh beautiful, sweet, lovely Shaman King. Shonen has a really hard time roping me in, but not this manga, never this one. It’s held my attention rapt for the better part of two years. Will this love last forever? Honestly, probably not, but until it does I intend on basking in this relationship.

You never forget your first love, so the high school sweetheart?

It’s been over ten years that I have been completely enamored with Yu-Gi-Oh. Perhaps because it was one of my first, perhaps because I grew up with the characters. It could have to do with Atemu being my one true love. Who knows, who cares as far as first loves go though Yu-Gi-Oh and I are still in love.

The alluring stranger whom you’ve flirted with at parties but have never gotten really serious with?

I think I could have fallen in love with Hikaru No Go had I never started talking to my high school crush Yu-Gi-Oh again. As far as boys learning to play games with the help of an ancient spirit goes though Yu-Gi-Oh is just better. Hikaru No Go is prettier by far I’ll give it that, but lacking an overall plot hurts it pretty bad.

The one you hang out with, and have vague fantasies about maybe having a thing with, but ultimately your just good buddies. The friendship is there but the chemistry isn’t?

Katekyo Hitman Reborn is the epitome of this relationship to me. I just can’t put both feet in the water with it. I’ve tried, but every time I do I feel a bitter cold creep up my legs and I remember we just can’t work it out. I love some of the characters, I love them a lot, but the story arcs are too stupid for it to work.

The one your friends keep introducing you to and who seems like a really cool chick except it’s never really gone anywhere?

Chihayafuru is the one that keeps getting pitched at me, I look at it, it smiles and bats its eyes at me, but I just can’t muster the will to actually sit down and watch this show. No matter how pretty it may be.

The one who’s slept with all your friends, and you keep looking at her and thinking ‘Her? How the Hell did she land all these cool guys?’

Fullmetal Alchemist/ Brotherhood is easily the most frustratingly blargh show that almost everyone I know fell in love with. I look at it and I think ‘ew…human bombs, ew…chimera dog girl ting, ew…the Roy Mustang brotherhood dvd cover…..ick’ How many ews can I muster before my friends see her for what she is?

The one your friend has fallen for like a ton of bricks and whom he keeps blabbing to you about on the phone for hours, and you’d be happy for him but you know it’s going to end bad?

This award goes to Tiger & Bunny. I looked at this show and immediately thought “Hell no!” But then I started to wonder if that was the right decision, one of my best friends loved it after all. Then I looked at the content again and thought “…..well….maybe….” so I watched the first couple of episodes and then I KNEW it was going to end badly.

The one who gave you the best summer of your whole life and who you measure all other potential partners against?

If there’s a title out there that is my fandom sex kitten it’s the manga Banana Fish. She’s perfect by every means of the word. Grade A story, art that is perfect for it, amazing characters, and a heart wrenching ending. There is nothing I would change about this title. I love it!

 

And those are my answers. What would yours be?

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime, Manga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

