Misaka Mikoto, Shirai Kuroko, Ruri Gokou, Kirino Kousaka, Ore No Imouto, Railgun

These girls are so cute. Usually I don’t like the baby look on my figures, but these things are just precious. Small too, they fit perfectly in your hand.

I’ll start with our poster girl up top Misaka Mikoto from To Aru Kagaku no Railgun or A Certain Scientific Railgun.

Misaka is actually fairly simple in her design. Like all the Petankos her legs are splayed and she sits with her hands down on the base in front of her. Her face is simply precious with large wide eyes that are innocent and adorable.

The detail on her hair is fairly simplistic with just a little bit of texture to it. The hair clip is simple, just silver, but it doesn’t bleed at all onto her hair. Her sweater vest has a few wrinkles on it and they actually pleated her skirt.

The back is just like the rest of the figure, simple without being completely under done.

I love her socks, they’re poofy and go just over the edge of her shoes. 🙂 They’re fingers are a little bit ridiculous though. They are the tiniest little blob things…..

We’ll continue on with Railgun here with our next little lady Kuroko Shirai!

Again we have the standard Petanko pose, nothing too different here, I do appreciate that their heads turn though so you can have them sit opposite each other without looking completely silly. Shirai is honestly my least favorite of the four currently released Petankos. The reason is in her hair. It’s styled just like her so that’s no problem, but she’s the only one who doesn’t have hair framing her face. The end result of this is making her face look really fat.

I do really like her tentacle pigtails though, they are very cute and wavy. Her ribbons also have just a hint of darker red shading near the middle.

The back of her head has just a little bit of line showing hair being pulled up in the pigtails.

The arm band is another nice touch to her. The lines on it are very crisp and clear. Ooh and if you look close you can see her socks are folded over. I think I might love Petanko socks.

Next we’re going to move on to Ore No Imouto’s Ruri Gokou.

She’s adorable in her traditional goth lolita cosplay. The top of her yes are flat accentuating the characters cold stare. And her hands are actually down on her dress holding the skirt down. 

Ruri’s hair follows the same simple setup of the other figures, a few breaks in it to remind you it’s supposed to be hair you’re looking at. If you look close down by her hair they actually gave her the ribbon down at her waist. Tis a very cute touch!

Again really simple hair. I do love how wavy her headband looks from the back angle though.

Ruri by far has the most detailed outfit in the Petanko line thus far. They’ve got the ribbons on her sleeves the crosses on the front of her dress. The cute little double cravat by her throat. She’s even wearing leggings!

Then there are the roses. Did they really need to sculpt that much detail into the roses on her headband? Nope, but they did it anyway. I love that added touch.

And after Ruri comes her far more energetic partner in crime Kirino Kousaka!

God this thing is cute. She’s got hair clips holding her hair out of her large Bambi eyes.

Another pleated skirt, her hair is wavy and kind of poofy. There are little bits of darker highlights at the tips of her hair as well.

From the back, her hair is a kind of large yellow blob. I like it mind you, I think it looks perfectly Kirino, but blob really is the best word I can think of to describe it. I do really like the pieces that stick out on the sides.

No poofy socks this time, that’s kinda sad, but they are still different from all three of the other Petankos in this review. Hers are knee-high and black. She’s also wearing her trademark hair scrunchy on her wrist for another nice touch.

The Petanko base is clear and circular and the weakest part of these toys.

Pose: 6/10 Cute, but all the same

Paint: 10/10

Sculpt: 7/10

Base: 3/10

Overall Enjoyment: 8/10

Kudos Awarded 4/5

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Misaka Mikoto, Shirai Kuroko, Ruri Gokou, Kirino Kousaka, Ore No Imouto, Railgun

  1. cb27ded says:

    That’s a pile of adoreable there.

Leave a Reply

