Yusei Fudo and Yami Yuugi, Yu-Gi-Oh Mugs, Cospa

Here it is 2012 and Yu-Gi-Oh is finally getting the merchandising it deserves. Aside from the cards, a few old t-shirts, and some REALLY bad american made toys, merch was just way hard to find. Until now that is.

I managed to score two of these before they were sold completely out on Amiami. I caught Yusei Fudo and Yami Yuugi (fangirlish squeal).

I’ll start with Yusei, this mug is very nicely done. It’s got a black base with the picture being in white, black and various shades of gray. It shows him, large and proud on the side of the mug. I love the way his hair turned out, it looks perfect!

Next to Yusei is his trademark monster the Stadust Dragon. The detailing on its wing  here is great, I love the textured look to it!

The rest of the Stardust Dragon is next to the handle, it’s detail is stellar, it looks just like off of the cards. The background pieces all match up, and there are zero inconsistencies in the paint job.

Following that up is the King of Games himself Yami! His picture is significantly, and sadly more up close then Yusei’s. A hint of a smirk crosses his face and determination shows in his eyes.

Instead of doing Yami’s trademark monster (the Dark Magician) which would have been awesome, the put egyptian hieroglyphics next to him. If you look close next to his hair though, the word Atem is there which is pretty frigging awesome. Again great detailing here. The lines are all crisp and clear.

This however pisses me off. I don’t care if they want to put Yami, Atem, or I’d even settle on the ‘Other Me’, but no they put Yugi Mutou. This is not a picture of Yugi, as any raving obsessive fujoshi could tell you. His hair’s all wrong, so is the expression on his face. That is Yami! Anyway, I do like the hieroglyphics going back behind the (incorrect) name and the Eye of Horus. It’s a nice mug, just inaccurate.

The inside of the two mugs are the exact same, a simple glossy black.

Each one came in a small white box, that has a picture of what the mug inside looks like.

Design: 8/10

Detail: 9/10

Accuracy:…../10

Overall enjoyment: 8/10

These get an overall score of 4/5 Kudos.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

