Homura Akemi, Magica Madoka, Figma, Max Factory

Figma and I have been on rocky terms for a while now, this one didn’t help them. I was excited about it for a while because I love Homura, overall she was my favorite character in the show. This though fails in just about every regard, let’s start.

This toy is in her magical girl gear, which honestly looks like a slightly glorified school uniform. I had thought about purchasing the new one in her school uniform, but with all the flaws evident in this one I ultimately decided against it.

Her faces are cute enough. They’re well-defined, the eyes are well painted and she does have a varying degree of expression. My first set of gripes though come from her hair. the twin pieces dangling on either side of her head look horrible. The didn’t even try to blend them in with the top of her hair. The plus note being the top of her sailor fuku has a crisp clear paint job that won’t distract you from staring at her hair in horror.

The back of her hair actually manages to be worse. Look at those joints, good lord. Now here most figma have a piece of flexible plastic (like what the skirts are made of) that goes down over the joints just enough to hide it. This though is a hideous display.

Her back has white seeping into the darker part of the fuku collar. She does fit nice and secure onto her base.

It might just be a problem with my copy of Homura, but there were little black flecks all over her hands. I managed to scrape most of them off with a little bit of effort, but it’s effort that should not have ever been required. One of her hands does feature a purple gem stone on the backside of it so you won’t confuse which hand is right and which hand is left at least. Her skirt is cute and pleated. The white on the trim doesn’t bleed over onto the purple, it looks very nice and clear.

Her legs however  show that figma just wasn’t ready to try something as complex as a pattern yet. Unless you pull her knee forward at an impossible angle the pattern will never match up.  Her shoes are fairly simple and nondescript. Simple black slip ons with a slight heel.

Now I do love this hair. The twin braids for her alternate hairstyle is precious, it doesn’t help the front of her hair, but it is cute. The hairties are nice, they match the purple in her outfit. And the way her hair curls a little at the bottom is a nice added touch. It’s cute but it still does nothing to solve the problems at the front of her hair.

Next we’ll talk about the glasses and the ‘blah’ face. The glasses are cute though extremely delicate. They actually have clear lens, which although not entirely necessary is never a bad touch. This face is Homura’s typical face, it says ‘I just don’t care’ which of course isn’t true, but it was a needed expression for this toy and I would have been pissed off if they would have left it out.

And then there’s face number three, angry Homura. Anger is good, especially for a magical girl who puts up with a LOT of crap. So they’ve covered all three faces that I would have actually wanted them to make for her.

Her hands are fairly archetypical, they give you your standard fists, gun hands, and grasping hands. Again the gem on the hands is a nice touch though it does look better on some of them then on others.

Her accessories are another great selling point for this figure. Included in those are the golf club she fights with when she’s a novice magical girl (great for photo ops with your other figma) and a buckler that hooks directly onto her arm. Both have fairly good paint jobs.

There’s the bazooka….which she can’t hold. I mean that too, on the back of the box it shows it displayed just like this. It’s a precarious balancing job at best. A bazooka would be an awesome accessory if she could only hold it right…..

For a smaller firearm, that this time she can wield, Homura also comes equipped with her pistol. She actually looks pretty nifty holding this one. If you angle her just right yo don’t even have to look at the horrible hair joints! I do appreciate that she actually has a trigger finger. That’s always nice.

And last but not least if you’ve completely given up on this toy like I have don’t worry. She comes with a time bomb too. Honestly I had no idea what that thing even was. A bar bell maybe? Amiami says time bomb though so I guess I’ll take their word for it.

Her box is a standard figma box. It has swirling shades of purple and white to give it a pretty magical girl appeal. One side as always features a large picture of the figure while the back shows how you can pose the figure.

Sculpt: 6/10

Paint: 8/10

Pose Ability: 7/10

Packaging: 8/10

Overall Enjoyment: 6/10

Kudos awarded 3/5

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

