Makise Kurisu Steins;Gate 1/8 Kotobukiya

Character: Makise Kurisu

Series: Steins; Gate

Sculptor: M.I.C.

Scale: 1/8

Manufacturer: Kotobukiya

Release Date: January 2012

Run: Standard

My Figure Collection Link: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/35297

I am not sure what it is about Nitro+, but their character designs always draw me in. Such was the case with Makise Kurisu. I will be honest, I have watched very little of Steins; Gate. I was patiently awaiting the Funimation release, which I might add is taking forever!

The first time I saw this figure I knew she was a must have! Everything about her looked unique. Unfortunately as time passed, her Ebay price sky rocketed. Thankfully she was recently re-released, and I was in the pre-order line!

Her pose is unique, as she hovers over the gears floating in the air. Each gear is its own piece, only two of them interlock. This figure commands attention. Her jacket subtly floats around her. None of her hair is affected by this invisible force holding her afloat however.

Each gear looks old, and worn. The paint looks deliberately uneven to emphasize their wear, and tear. Near the middle ring her phone floats, broken beside her. There is a bit of assembly required here, but nothing to difficult. Each gear simply slides into the back of her leg. I did find it odd that none of them touch the base, so they don’t support her at all.

The detail to her clothing is quite nice. Her tie hangs loose around her neck, and her jackets hangs loosely off her arms. The colors chosen for her jacket are quite amazing. The intermingling of dark, and light brown give off a really nice effect.

There are no paint smudges, or smears. Each line is crisp. All of her seams appear to be in natural places. Each one blending into the overall figure.

Her face show little emotion, but very nice detail. Her eyes have a very hollow definition to them, making them look almost eerie.

The base however is kind of so-so. It looks pretty cool on its own, but it does not match the gears. I do understand that the original images showed no base, so I can understand the clear base.

This however is an eyesore. I cannot understand why this choice was made. If there is a single flaw in this entire figure, it is the foot piece.

Her packaging is nice, and the colors complement the figure nicely. There are plenty of windows to show her off.

On one side there is even a full size image of the original artwork.

Pose: 10/10

Sculpt: 10/10

Paint: 10/10

Base: 6/10

Packaging: 9/10

Overall Enjoyment: 10/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Makise Kurisu Steins;Gate 1/8 Kotobukiya

  1. cb27ded says:

    I find it weird that the gears doesn’t support her at all.

  2. ryousuke says:

    How tall is she exactly? I really want to get her but my shelf height is a little less than 25 cm, so I’m afraid she wouldn’t fit it :/

  3. ryousuke says:

    9,36 inches… so just a little under 240 mm? Great! Thanks a lot!!!

Leave a Reply

