Kyousuke Kousaka 1/10

Character: Kyousuke Kousaka

Series: Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai

Sculptor: Tomo

Scale: 1/10

Manufacturer: ASCII

Release Date: February 2012

Run: Dengeki Exclusive

My Figure Collection Link: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/78391

So many times I have sought a figure of a male lead, only to find innumerable figures of the female leads. Today I bring you an anomaly amongst the hordes of female figures, Kyousuke Kousaka, the male lead from Ore Imo. Yes, that’s right I said male.

The initial prototype images scared the hell out of me. I thought his face was a little off, well maybe a lot off, thankfully now that I have seen the actual product I can honestly say I am pretty happy with him.

Kyousuke has a rather passive look on his face. This is befitting of his character as he just goes with the flow. He comes with an alternate face, one with much more expression than the first.

This face just bothers me. It looks pretty derpy. The expression is right for Kyousuke, but I don’t think it translates well into the world of 3D.

Overall the sculpt of this figure is a little lackluster. I appreciate that someone out there wanted a Kyousuke bad enough to make one, but seriously, a tad more effort would be amazing. His left arm just hangs at his side in an unnatural way. His right hand is positioned oddly as well. It is too far back to be resting on his hip. It’s not in his pocket. It’s just hanging out on his butt!? Why?

There is a nasty seam where his hand connects to his body. You can not only see an error in the sculpt, but excess glue as well. I will say the folds in his clothing look natural over his body.

I think his clothing is actually the best part of this figure overall.

Look he is wearing really cool shoes. I know I am a total geek for Chucks.

This figure was released as a Dengeki Magazine exclusive. After all is said and done I think going through a proxy was entirely worth it. One of the truly amusing things about this figure is that he was made as a counter part to a limited edition Ruri figma, so his box and base mock figma’s.

I am not sure why, but I found this aspect totally awesome!

Paint: 9/10

Sculpt: 5/10

Packaging: 10/10

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

