Ruri Gokou 1/8 Scale Kotobukiya Memories Version

Today’s fandom offering comes in the form of the latest Gokou Ruri from Kotobukiya! Like their last offering this one is also 1/8th scale, but does not look like she’s about to fall over. She’s small I’d wager only about four inches or so tall.

I promised to be as honest as I could with these reviews, so I’ll just come right out with it. I’m not a very big fan of her face. However it’s not just this one, this applies to the figma and Kotobukiya’s June 2011 figure as well. I don’t think Ruri’s face translates particularly well in figure format 😦 Part of the reason for this is in the shape of her head itself, she has very chubby cheeks which looks kind of…..akward on a figure…. They also used a strange glossy paint on her eyes which in the right light looks downright creepy.

Her back looks quite nice, the frills on her top aren’t evenly spaced which adds to a more natural feel. The paint on the ribbon is also just on the ribbon no smudges of blue on the shirt, which always makes me happy! And the purse over her shoulder is well attached so it will not move around at all. Falling accessories is another serious pet peeve of mine, so I’m glad to see the issue side-stepped here.

Her hair has a nice slightly wind-blown look (though this will never reach a figures bangs) and it billows behind her just enough to be seen from the front view. Her skirt has a few wrinkles which shows that she’s sitting. I do find it a little amusing though that said skirt does fall perfectly behind her.  Symmetrical all the way around her back….. I love the cat ears, the way one kind of drooping a little bit, I think that’s just plain cute, But the should have painted them in a glossier tone so the headband would stand out from her hair 😦

Like almost everything else about this figure, the ribbon is tied perfect, the loops are the exact same size and so are the dangling ends….Her arms are incredibly thin with almost no definition to them other than a very small indent at her elbow.

Her purse is adorable! It’s done in a nice glossy black paint that stands out well against the duller black of her skirt. The choice of silver highlights over gold is a good choice too. The silver offsets against the white shirt nicely, where as gold would have just looked tacky. No paint smudges here either. Nice!

Her shoes are totally cute as well, done with the same glossy paint as her purse they stand out. The little bows on top are a cute touch as well. Ruri is however on the list of characters that clearly have no leg muscles. Her ankles and knees have no definition whatsoever. Where does her leg stop and her ankle begin? Well your guess is as good as  mine since the sculptor clearly didn’t want to go into that kind of detail, focusing instead on her cute purse.

What are her hands doing? Is she nervous? Bored? deliberately posing? Deliberately blocking a panty shot?  I don’t know. So I’ll leave that alone for now and instead talk about her nail polish. It’s a nice shade of light pink that I honestly never would have pictured Ruri wearing. But it does draw a little bit of extra attention to her  hands. Her fingers are individually sculpted and look more elegant than any of the rest of the figure does….

The base is cute, it features the picture that this particular figure is based on. The problem is that With the size of the base and the size of the figure Ruri will be sitting on a prominent part of the picture. For the sake of these pictures she’s sitting on Ayase due to a mild personal bias.

So instead of sitting on it, I decided to display her with it behind her. Like a picture frame, Which creates a cute effect. Whether this was the intention of Koto’s sculptor  I don’t know but it is cute.

Her box is small and standard, nothing about it really stands out. It has two large display windows for viewing the figure from the front and the back. On one side it shows a large picture of the figure, and the other side shows the pictures that this and the new Kirino (due out in January) are based of off.

Pose: 6/10 Honestly I have no idea what this figure is supposed to be doing…..Why would you sit with your arms under your legs like that? What is she doing with her hands? Why spread your skirt out behind you instead of under you? I just don’t get it….

Paint: 9/10 She looks great! My only gripe here is the hair and headband being the same color.

Sculpt: 7/10 Someone needs to sit down with this sculptor and explain limb definition to him or her.

Overall: 7/10 I really like her overall, but a few minor issues keep this from being a truly great figure!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ruri Gokou 1/8 Scale Kotobukiya Memories Version

  1. Topiki says:

    i think the Memories version Kirino turned out much better!

  2. localareanetwork says:

    I think she looks adorable and she’s one of the best Kuroneko figures produced out there! 😀
    But I agree with her eyes, they shouldn’t used a glossy-what-so-ever paint/print.

Leave a Reply

