Gashapons, Trading Figures, And Petits Need Love Too! Part 1! Conan Edogawa and Heiji Hattori Chibis by Bandai

Yesterday I was thinking little figures need love too, so why not give them a little room to shine? So every now and then when I find something fun, I will post a chibi sized review for it! So here we go! Part one with Detective Conan!

Conan Edogawa the diminutive detective was reimagined by Bandai in this offensively awful giant headed chibi.

He is badly painted, and horribly out of proportion. Yes I know this was deliberate, but good lordy it’s ugly! From a distance it looks ok, but lets focus in a bit.

You can see here where the blue around his sleeves, and shorts oozes onto his skin….yuck!

And here you can see some bad paint around his ear….At the very least the pose is cute…..Very Conanesque. Or should I say befitting of the character?

I do like his hair, aside from the uneven paint job. I love his little chicken tail ahoge!

The soccer ball actually looks like a soccer ball…Go Bandai!

Now you may ask why this atrocity adorns my shelf, well the answer is simple!

I absolutely needed this Heiji figure. Ugly..yes. Deformed…yes. The only figure of Heiji ever made….unfortunately pretty damn close. So here they are, two of the ugliest figures I have ever loved. An absolute necessity! I couldn’t not buy Heiji, and he is incapable of doing anything on his own, so there you have it…the reason I own these two little monsters!

Heiji Hattori is just as bad as Conan, unfortunately….

His uneven paint doesn’t stand out quite as much as Conan’s, as most of it is under the front of his hat. His bangs totally leak onto the under side of the rim.

I have no idea what he is doing. If I was to wager a guess I would say….Kneeling down and glaring at me….I mean looking for clues. Yes he is looking for clues.

Heiji is wearing his trademark Sax hat, which has something similar to the logo on the front.

I think Heiji may have has a run in with the cast of Bakemonogatari. He seems to have a bite mark on his left hand…..

and clearly a staple wound to the head…..maybe he should stay away from monsters.

All in all they are awful. I do love them though, and they have found a home with Fujiko in my cabinet.

Overall Quality: 4/10

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Trading Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gashapons, Trading Figures, And Petits Need Love Too! Part 1! Conan Edogawa and Heiji Hattori Chibis by Bandai

  1. Cristin D Torio says:

    Sell me the 2 conans you have. If you are going to insult them just sell the mini figures you have.

    • Topiki says:

      I think you might miss the point of a review….
      I enjoy the figures, which is why I bought them. That is mentioned more than once in the review.
      Also I most certainly can’t praise their quality, when the photos show the reader otherwise. That would by lying and deceats the purpose of an honest review.
      I scored my enjoyment level with them a 7, which is above average, and the quality a 4. I think that is fair, if not generous.
      Kaido on the other hand I hate so much that he isn’t included. That is how you know I hate a toy.

Leave a Reply

