Azusa Kinose 1/8 Altair

Character: Kinose Azusa

Series: Starry Sky

Sculptor: Saitou Fumiki

Scale: 1/8

Manufacturer: Alter

Release Date: September 2011

Run: Animate Exclusive

My Figure Collection Link: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/50791

Let me start off by saying that Altair’s offering of Azusa Kinose originally came as a disappointment. Of all the Starry Sky boys, why Kinose? Hoping that Altair would love me enough to make more in the set I faithfully pre-ordered Kinose. Silly me.

Upon seeing his design I was for the first time excited. I couldn’t wait to see it painted. Now I have Kinose in my possession, and boy was he worth it.

I was fairly impressed by the detail on this figure, not only in color, but the sculpt itself. Each finger is individually sculpted, and placed around the edge of the base as if he is casually resting back against it. His hair has plenty of detail. It doesn’t look flat, or drab.  His clothes are well sculpted as well. Each button is perfect. His clothes have natural folds, and his belt buckle has a great deal of detail.

His face is also quite nice. His nose is defined, and his lips are very kissable. Wait….Did I just say Kinose was kissable!? Seriously it looks like a lot of thought was put into his face, especially his lips. His lower lip even has a slight sheen as if glossed. Nice touch.

Right down to his feet, Kinose is a pretty awesome specimen. His base is no exception. The lower portion of his base is a transparent dark blue, with white speckled stars.

The upper base is a set of gold rings. The inner ring has each zodiac symbol, and name carved into it. The inner ring even turns, so you can position it however you like.  Kinose is well supported, perched upon this base. His posture even looks pretty natural. Since I can’t rate his sculpt a 12, which it deserves, we will have to settle for a straight 10.

Kinose’s paint job is perfect. Yes I said perfect. The tiny clips on his collar, buttons, school emblems, and belt buckle are all paint with precision. Looking him over I can’t find a single smudge, or smeared line. Absolutely wonderful.

The attention to detail on his face, again is astonishing! His eyes are beautifully painted. They also are even and centered. His eye brows look great with his hair, and again that little shimmer on his lips. Kinose gets a 10/10 on his paint job!

Kinose’s box is fairly nice. The front of the box shows a large picture of Kinose Azusa.

The front flap opens up to reveal a large picture window. This is the only window this box offers. It does however display Kinose in all his splendor.

The back of the box, and sides are fairly standard. The front image slightly wraps around one side. The other side shows an image of the figure. The back as well shows a nice image of the figure itself. The inside of the box has a typical plastic blister packaging that secures Kinose in place. An 8/10 for the packaging.

Overall Kinose Azusa deserves a 10/ 10! I am very pleased with this addition to my figure family!

They could almost be family, don’t ya think?

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Azusa Kinose 1/8 Altair

  1. That is the fitting blog for anybody who needs to find out about this topic. You realize a lot its virtually arduous to argue with you (not that I really would want?HaHa). You positively put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

Leave a Reply

