Zero Megaman X D-Arts Review

        This is Zero of Megaman X fame, from the D-Arts line of action figures and brought to us by the wonder that is Bandai! He was released in August of 2011 for a base price of 3,500 yen, but he was 2,540 yen on the site that I do most of my orders from. Amiami.

           Zero stands just under five inches tall, so about the height of your average figma. D-Arts loves me so as we can see here they used a clear blue gem on his forehead as well as a clear green for his chest and the bottom of his feet.

                     And in a successful bid at making me love this more then any other Capcom based action figure that I’ve ever owned(and over the years there have been a lot of them)  they successfully hid what would have been otherwise hideous joints. (See Chousokabe’s Revoltech for painful examples.)

                   The seam lines however…..they stick out like a sore thumb…..

           

             He does come with multiple faces….I classify them as suspicious, angry, and angrier. I wish they would have added crazy as an option, that would have covered all three facial expressions he displays in the games. I’ll settle for what I can get though.

The paint job on the faces is good, no real room for complaint there. No smudges or scratches to be seen on his face. His helmet didn’t fair so well there are bits of white where it should rather blatantly be red.

         The decal on his shoulder is quite nice however.

                 He comes with extra hands and a burst of energy for the Z buster. Overall very nice though I do wish they would have included a hand that could hold something……

                The Z Buster detaches quite easily (but not easily enough to just fall off) and reattaches just as easily. Unlike with figma I’m not extremely paranoid of breakage every time I change out a piece. The way the joint is designed also allows for a full range of movement.

I do however hate the joint for his ponytail. Yes there is a joint, but it does nothing. It won’t hold his hair in place at all, so in summary if you want his hair to hang down the middle of his back then great. If you want it off to either side. Well tough luck. His hair is just too heavy for all that.

The other major downer for this figure is he doesn’t have a base. so whereas he has a great range of movement there is a limit to how you can pose him. No running, jumping, etc. The box he comes in is fairly standard. Cardboard with nice pictures of the character on either side of the box.

It’s very colorful, sure to stand out on any retailers shelf. Which I’m sure was in fact the point. I also get the distinct impression that the back of the box is designed to say ‘Ah you missed normal armor X, well here’s Ultimate Armor X coming soon!’ The packaging is nice though, with a big clear window in front and a cardboard X across the front of the box as if to remind you what series this figure hearkens from.

                                      In Summary!

            Overall Packaging- 8/10 It really has next to nothing wrong with it, other then not showing enough Zero poses on the back, but it doesn’t feel special either. Another box to be spirited away to the closet and never spoken of again.

            Overall Scuplt- 7/10    They really could have done a whole lot better on those seam lines.However for as simple as Zero’s character design is they did do a pretty good job on the figure. I am overjoyed by the way the joints look!

             Overall Paint- 7/10 I know my problems were small and petty, but for a figure that barely has a paint job to have three or four paint smudges. Well that’s three or four to many.

            Overall Posing- 8/10 Is asking for a base really to much?

            Overall Base- 0/10 There isn’t one so I can’t rate it. Though I am very fond of his feet.

            Overall Enjoyment- 8/10 I have a Zero action figure! Zero! Zero! Zero! Squee! I would have loved a larger supply of options ( a crazed face, Z saber, etc) but I love this so much. Thanks D-Ars!!!!!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

