Gashapons, Trading Figures, And Petits Need Love Too! Part 4: Hitoshura

Back when I first found the invaluable site: Myfigurecollection.net, I did a search on a few of my favorite titles. Amongst those titles was Shin Megami Nocturne. What I found was a set of exclusive figures only available if you bought the trading card game in Japan. I was bummed, but I checked around Ebay and a few other websites, I couldn’t find him anywhere. So here I am a few years later with this figure finally in my possession.

I call it love in its purest form. His name is Hitoshura and he’s one of the last five humans in the world. Like the other humans, and on the opposite spectrum from Digital Devil Saga (wherein demons are learning humanity), Nocturne focuses on the corruption of humanity. As the game progresses you will beguile, trick, seduce, and bribe various creatures into your own private army. Now in a desolate world this is what it takes to survive. Hitoshura is many things man, monster, honest, naive, perhaps even innocent, but one thing he isn’t and never will be is a quitter.

Okay I have quite a few things to say about this figure honestly. He looks horrible, and feels ridiculously rubbery, it’s like holding a Gumby toy. His arms move at the shoulder which is fairly pointless because this isn’t an action figure. His hair has some fairly distinctive detailing to it, the little bit of bangs specifically have lines in it. His eyes are under detailed. There’s no color to them. I do like that his gaze has shifted to one side, it shows just a hint of paranoia. They tried to give him distinctive lips, but this only resulted in a smudge by his mouth, up close it kind of looks like a moustache. For all that’s wrong there though the tattoo lines on his face really do look great. Moving on down to his chest and belly Hitoshura has some very moderate muscle definition, not unrealistic for a high school boy turned demon. Now onto something I don’t understand, the tattoos on his chest are surrounded by indented lines which look terribly off putting. His stomach does not have those indents and does look significantly better. By the way, the demonic transformation added the tatts, but did it take away his nipples and belly button? They seem to be missing.

His shorts go down to about where his knees would be if his legs had any definition to them. The garment does have two buttons up top that are painted just fine and a fly that is easily evident. There is no other real detain to speak of, but they must be really tight on his legs. Oh and speaking of legs, they have the same style of indented tatts as his chest does, the paint job looks mostly good though all things considered.

His shoelaces are painted on, they aren’t sculpted at all, just a paint job, and yet probably the most detailed shoelaces I’ve ever seen on a figure of this size, so I’ll let it slide. His shoes are painted reasonably well, there’s a bit of blue that crept onto his leg, but other than that one spot the rest of the blue, black, and gray of his shoes stays right where it’s supposed to be. Please also note he has no base, so right now he’s being held up with a piece of scotch tape.

From the back you can see that his hair has places all over it that aren’t painted at all. If you raise his arms at all then the tattoos on his shoulders don’t match up at all. His back is sculpted better than his chest, I’ve always been a fan of shoulder blades and the subtle curvature of the spine. The tattoos are painted really well here.

His arms look pretty good, strong, great for bludgeoning demons to death with. The paint job here is immaculate. Perfect even. If the rest of the figure were painted this well he’d be alot closer to a ten rating then he is now. I especially love the ring tattoos across all ten fingers.Then there’s the detailing to both his palm and wrist, they look great for a figure of Gumby ;)

 I was also a little bit impressed that the remembered the tatts over his achilles tendon. Surprisingly the paint here didn’t transfer onto his shoes at all!

 

Overall it’s a pretty bad figure, but I love it, because I love him. Is it worth the money it costs to hunt him down? Probably not to a casual fan. To someone who truly adores the game and the character though, he’s worth every cent.

Paint: 5/10

Pose: 3/10

Sculpt: 5/10

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Tekizen

I am a twenty eight year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

